Home team Away Team


  • Clerc,
    Penalty goals: Yachvili (3),
14 - 19


  • Hufanga,
    Penalty goals: Morath (4),
    Conversions: Morath,
  • World Cup
  • Pool A
  • 1st Oct 2011
  • KO 06:00
  • Ground: Wellington Regional Stadium
  • Att: 30,000

France v Tonga: Teams

At Wellington Regional Stadium, Saturday October 1, kick-off 6am

Last updated: 30th September 2011   Subscribe to RSS Feed

France v Tonga: Teams

Lievremont: Targeting a bonus point

Related links


Also see

France will look to secure the bonus point they need to book a place in the last eight when they face Tonga in Wellington.

The 37-17 defeat to the All Blacks means Marc Lievremont's side remain second in Pool A on 10 points - with Canada on six points and Tonga on five.

With the Canucks facing New Zealand they are unlikely to overhaul Les Bleus, leaving Tonga with a slim chance. The South Sea islanders need a bonus-point win, while denying France anything from the encounter.

Lievremont has made four changes for the clash with Alexis Palisson, William Servat and Raphael Lakafia handed starts and Maxime Medard moving to full-back.


That means Morgan Parra remains at fly-half, with Francois Trinh-Duc on the bench.

Tonga have also made four changes following 31-18 win over Japan.

Finau Maka returns to skipper the side, with Kisi Pulu, Viliame Iongi and Andrew Ma'ilei also included in the line-up.

Alipate Fatafehi drops to the bench, while Fetu'u Vainikolo, Sione Vaiomo'unga and Taufa'ao Filise are omitted from the match-day 22.

In the only other change among the replacements, Ephraim Taukafa comes in for Aloisio Ma'asi.

France: 15 Maxime Medard, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Aurelien Rougerie, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 Alexis Palisson, 10 Morgan Parra, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Raphael Lakafia, 7 Julien Bonnaire, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (c), 5 Lionel Nallet, 4 Pascal Pape, 3 Luc Ducalcon, 2 William Servat, 1 Jean-Baptiste Poux.
Replacements: 16 Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Fabien Barcella, 18 Julien Pierre, 19 Imanol Harinordoquy, 20 Francois Trinh-Duc, 21 Fabrice Estebanez, 22 Cedric Heymans.

Tonga: 15 Vungakoto Lilo, 14 Viliame Iongi, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Andrew Ma'ilei, 11 Sukanaivalu Hufanga, 10 Kurt Morath, 9 Taniela Moa, 8 Viliami Ma'afu, 7 Finau Maka (captain), 6 Sione Kalamafoni, 5 Paino Hehea, 4 Tukulua Lokotui, 3 Kisi Pulu, 2 Aleki Lutui, 1 Soane Tonga'uiha.
Replacements: 16 Ephraim Taukafa, 17 Alisona Taumalolo, 18 Halani Aulika, 19 Joseph Tuineau, 20 Samiu Vahafolau, 21 Samisoni Fisilau, 22 Alipate Fatafehi

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com