Home team Away Team

New Zealand

  • Thorn, Read,
    Penalty goals: Weepu (7),
    Conversions: Weepu,
33 - 10


  • Farias Cabello,
    Penalty goals: Bosch,
    Conversions: Contepomi,
  • World Cup
  • Quarter Final
  • 9th Oct 2011
  • KO 08:30
  • Ground: Eden Park, Auckland

All Blacks v Pumas: Teams

At Eden Park, Sunday October 9, kick-off 8.30am

Last updated: 8th October 2011   Subscribe to RSS Feed

All Blacks v Pumas: Teams

Colin Slade: Has some big boots to fill

Related links


Also see

New Zealand will go into their World Cup quarter-final against Argentina as big favourites despite the loss of Dan Carter.

With Carter having headed home after struggling a groin injury Colin Slade has been handed the responsibilities at fly-half - although the rising star endured a mixed display against Canada.

The All Blacks are also without Zac Guildford, Israel Dagg and Richard Kahui, so Sonny Bill Williams starts on the wing as one of six changes made by Graham Henry following the rout over the Canucks.

Cory Jane comes in on the other wing, while Ma'a Nonu starts at inside centre and Piri Weepu is preferred at scrum-half.

In the pack Keven Mealamu returns at hooker and Brad Thorn replaces Ali Williams at lock.

Argentina, who finished third in 2007, have yet to beat the All Blacks in 13 previous encounters.

However they have named their strongest side as they look to take on the tournament favourites up front.

The Pumas have been boosted by the return to fitness of Rodrigo Roncero, with the experienced prop shaking off a groin strain to replace Marcos Ayerza in the front row.

Lock Manuel Carizza also comes into the pack, with full-back Martin Rodriguez and winger Gonzalo Camacho recalled to the back division.

New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Sonny Bill Williams, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Brad Thorn, 4 Samuel Whitelock, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Ali Williams, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Isaia Toeava.

Argentina: 15 Martín Rodríguez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Felipe Contepomi (capt), 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Santiago Fernández, 9 Nicolás Vergallo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 6 Julio Farias Cabello, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Mario Ledesma, 1 Rodrigo Roncero.
Replacements: 16 Agustín Creevy, 17 Martín Scelzo, 18 Marcos Ayerza, 19 Alejandro Campos, 20 Alfredo Lalanne, 21 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 22 Juan Jose Imhoff.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com