Home team Away Team


  • Williams, Halfpenny,
    Penalty goals: Jones, Hook,
    Conversions: Jones,
18 - 21


  • Barnes, McCalman,
    Penalty goals: O'Connor (2),
    Drop goals: Barnes,
    Conversions: O'Connor,
  • World Cup
  • 3rd/4th Play-Off
  • 21st Oct 2011
  • KO 08:30
  • Ground: Eden Park, Auckland

Wales v Australia: Teams

At Eden Park, Friday October 21, kick-off 8.30am

Last updated: 20th October 2011  

Wales v Australia: Teams

Related links


Also see

Wales and Australia go into Friday's bronze medal match at Eden Park with different views over the game's importance if their selections are anything to go by.

While Wales have opted to name as close to a full-strength side as possible, Australia have decided to rotate their line-up for the third-placed play-off.

The suspension handed out to Wales captain Sam Warburton has forced one of the three changes of personnel for the clash - which is a repeat of the 1987 play-off.

Ryan Jones comes into the side for Warburton, with Toby Faletau switching from No.8 to the openside.

Injury to Adam Jones means Paul James will start in the front row, while Bradley Davies is promoted from the bench to replace Alun Wyn Jones.

Ryan Bevington and Andy Powell have been named among the replacements, while Gethin Jenkins has been handed the captaincy.

While coach Warren Gatland has kept the changes to a minimum, his Australia counterpart Robbie Deans has gone for a new-look line-up.

In total Deans has made eight changes of personnel - with six of them coming in the pack.

Only skipper James Horwill and David Pocock keep their places following the 20-6 semi-final defeat to New Zealand, with Nathan Sharpe, Ben McCalman, Scott Higginbotham, Salesi Ma'afu, Tatafu Polota-Nau and James Slipper called in.

In the backs Kurtley Beale returns at full-back after recovering from a hamstring problem, while Berrick Barnes is named in the centre alongside Adam Ashley-Cooper.

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Shane Williams, 10 James Hook, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Ryan Jones, 7 Toby Faletau, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Luke Charteris, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Paul James, 2 Huw Bennett, 1 Gethin Jenkins (c).
Replacements: 16 Lloyd Burns, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Alun Wyn Jones, 19 Andy Powell, 20 Lloyd Williams, 21 Stephen Jones, 22 Scott Williams.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O'Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 James Horwill (c), 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 James Slipper.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Anthony Faingaa, 22 Robert Horne.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com