Home team Away Team


  • Palu, Pretorius,
    Penalty goals: Halangahu (3),
    Conversions: Halangahu,
21 - 25


  • Shipperley,
    Penalty goals: Harris (6),
    Conversions: Harris,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 25th Feb 2012
  • KO 08:40
  • Ground: Aussie Stadium, Sydney
  • Att: 32,071

Waratahs v Reds: Teams

ANZ Stadium, Saturday February 25, kick-off 8.40am

Last updated: 23rd February 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Jake Schatz

Jake Schatz: Starts at No.8 ahead of Radike Samo

Daniel Halangahu Waratahs v Sharks 2011

Daniel Halangahu: Will take over the captaincy from the sidelined Berrick Barnes

Related links


Also see

The Waratahs will be without captain Berrick Barnes when they kick-off their Super Rugby campaign against the Reds in Sydney.

Barnes suffered a groin strain in the final trial game and has failed to recover in time for the enticing derby encounter.

Daniel Halangahu will step in to lead the side from fly-half, with off-season recruit Sarel Pretorius handed the No.9 jersey.

Fellow new-boy Adam Ashley-Cooper starts at full-back, while former Australia Sevens international Brackin Karauria-Henry returns to Super Rugby action after missing last season with a back injury.

On the bench, flanker Jono Jenkins and winger Nathan Trist are poised to make their debuts.


Australia No.8 Radike Samo is a notable omission from the starting XV for the Reds.

Jake Schatz is instead preferred by the defending champions, with former 'Tah Beau Robinson and Scott Higginbotham completing the back-row.

Hooker James Hanson and winger Dom Shipperley also get the chance to impress with Saia Faingaa (ankle) and Rod Davies (hamstring) ruled out through injury.

Quade Cooper's serious knee injury means that Mike Harris has been handed the No.10 jersey, with Will Genia providing plenty of experience alongside him.

Coach Ewen McKenzie has opted for a 5-2 split on the bench with only Ben Lucas and Jono Lance providing cover for the back division.

Waratahs: 15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 Tom Kingston, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Tom Carter, 11 Brackin Karauria-Henry, 10 Daniel Halangahu (capt), 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Dean Mumm, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Lopeti Timani, 19 Jono Jenkins, 20 Brendan McKibbin, 21 Bernard Foley, 22 Nathan Trist.

Reds: 15 Luke Morahan, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Anthony Faingaa, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 James Horwill (capt), 4 Rob Simmons, 3 James Slipper, 2 James Hanson, 1 Ben Daley.
Replacements: 16 Albert Anae, 17 Greg Holmes, 18 Van Humphries, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Ben Lucas, 22 Jono Lance.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 27th March
Super Rugby
06:35Hurricanes vs Melbourne Rebels
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 28th March
05:30Chiefs vs Cheetahs
06:35Highlanders vs Stormers
08:40Waratahs vs Blues
15:05Sharks vs Western Force
17:10Bulls vs Crusaders
Friday 3rd April
07:35Hurricanes vs Stormers
09:40Melbourne Rebels vs Reds
Saturday 4th April
07:35Chiefs vs Blues
09:40Brumbies vs Cheetahs
14:00Sharks vs Crusaders
16:05Lions vs Bulls
Friday 10th April
08:35Blues vs Brumbies
Saturday 11th April
08:35Crusaders vs Highlanders
10:40Waratahs vs Stormers
12:45Western Force vs Cheetahs
14:00Bulls vs Reds
16:05Lions vs Sharks
Friday 17th April
08:35Crusaders vs Chiefs
Saturday 18th April
05:30Hurricanes vs Waratahs
08:35Highlanders vs Blues
10:40Brumbies vs Melbourne Rebels
12:45Western Force vs Stormers
16:05Sharks vs Bulls

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com