Home team Away Team


  • Viljoen, Daniel, Marais,
    Penalty goals: Lambie (2),
    Conversions: Lambie (3),
27 - 22


  • Higginbotham, Hanson, Frisby,
    Penalty goals: Lucas,
    Conversions: Lucas, Harris,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 17th Mar 2012
  • KO 15:05
  • Ground: Kings Park

Sharks v Reds: Teams

At Kings Park, Saturday March 17, kick-off 3.05pm

Last updated: 15th March 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Ben Lucas at Reds training

Ben Lucas: Has been handed the No.10 jersey for Saturday

jannie du plessis sharks v crusaders play offs 2011

Jannie du Plessis: Will return at loosehead for the Sharks

Related links


Also see

South Africa prop Jannie du Plessis will return to the Sharks line-up for the visit of defending champions the Reds on Saturday.

Du Plessis will start at loosehead - with Wiehahn Herbst providing cover from the bench - as one of three changes for the clash.

Lock Anton Bresler replaces Ross Skeate, who has a neck injury, while Charl McLeod is preferred to Frederic Michalak at scrum-half.

There is an additional change on the bench, with Louis Ludik coming in so Paul Jordaan can get some game time with the Vodacom Cup side.


Ben Lucas has been handed the No.10 shirt by Reds coach Ewen McKenzie as one of six changes for the trip to Durban.

Lucas replaces Jono Lance in the line-up, with Mike Harries - who has started the opening three matches at fly-half - moving across to inside centre.

Rod Davies, Greg Holmes, Van Humphries, Beau Robinson and Radike Samo also come into the starting XV, with Luke Morahan Ben Daley, Rob Simmons, Liam Gill and Jake Schatz all dropping to the bench.

There are also places among the replacements for scrum-half Nick Frisby, who is poised to make his Super Rugby debut, and Australia hooker Saia Faingaa.

Sharks:15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel (C), 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Anton Bresler , 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Jandre Marais, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Frederic Michalak, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Louis Ludik.

Reds: 15 Rod Davies, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Mike Harris, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Ben Lucas, 9 Will Genia, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Van Humphries, 4 James Horwill (c), 3 James Slipper, 2 James Hanson, 1 Greg Holmes.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Jake Schatz, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Luke Morahan.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 13th February
Super Rugby
06:35Crusaders vs Melbourne Rebels
08:40Brumbies vs Reds
17:10Lions vs Hurricanes
Saturday 14th February
06:35Blues vs Chiefs
15:05Sharks vs Cheetahs
17:05Bulls vs Stormers
Sunday 15th February
06:05Waratahs vs Western Force
Friday 20th February
06:35Chiefs vs Brumbies
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Waratahs
17:10Bulls vs Hurricanes
Saturday 21st February
06:35Highlanders vs Crusaders
08:40Reds vs Western Force
15:05Stormers vs Blues
17:10Sharks vs Lions
Friday 27th February
06:35Highlanders vs Reds
11:00Western Force vs Hurricanes
17:10Cheetahs vs Blues
Saturday 28th February
06:35Chiefs vs Crusaders
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Brumbies
15:05Bulls vs Sharks
17:10Lions vs Stormers
Friday 6th March
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com