Home team Away Team


  • Maitland, Fruean, Dagg,
    Penalty goals: Taylor (3),
    Conversions: Taylor (2),
28 - 21


  • Goosen, Ebersohn,
    Penalty goals: Goosen (3),
    Conversions: Goosen,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 24th Mar 2012
  • KO 06:35
  • Ground: AMI Stadium, Christchurch

Crusaders v Cheetahs: Teams

At Rugby League Park, Saturday March 24, kick-off 6.35am

Last updated: 22nd March 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Justin Downey

Justin Downey: Starts in the back row for the Cheetahs

Dan Carter Crusaders warm up 2011

Dan Carter: Will make his return to action off the bench

Related links


Also see

World Cup winner Dan Carter will make his long-awaited return to action on Saturday when the Crusaders take on the Cheetahs.

Carter has not played since damaging his groin during the pool stages of the World Cup, however he has been named on the Crusaders bench for their first appearance at Rugby League Park.

While Carter will have to wait to get involved, brothers Sam and Luke Whitelock, Tom Taylor and Ryan Crotty do gets starts.

The Whitelocks will bolster the pack, while Taylor is named at fly-half ahead of Tyler Blayendaal and Crotty has been passed fit to start in the centres.

There is also a further positional switch with Israel Dagg starting at full-back as Sean Maitland and Zac Guildford team up on the wings.

The Cheetahs have made three changes to their line-up following the last-gasp win over the Rebels.

Coenie Oosthuizen and WP Nel are replaced in the front row by Trevor Nyakane and Lourens Adriaanse while Justin Downey is preferred to Davon Raubenheimer in the back row.

Oosthuizen drops to the bench while Nel and Raubenheimer are omitted from the squad. There is a further change among the replacements with Andries Ferreira coming in for Downey.

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Tom Taylor, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Luke Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ross Kennedy, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Willie Heinz, 21 Dan Carter, 22 Tom Marshall.

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Cameron Jacobs, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Willie le Roux, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Justin Downey, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 George Earle, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Andries Ferreira, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Rayno Benjamin.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 6th March
Super Rugby
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs
15:05Cheetahs vs Bulls
17:10Stormers vs Sharks
Friday 13th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Blues
11:00Western Force vs Melbourne Rebels
Saturday 14th March
03:30Crusaders vs Lions
06:35Highlanders vs Waratahs
08:40Reds vs Brumbies
13:00Stormers vs Chiefs
15:05Cheetahs vs Sharks
Friday 20th March
06:35Highlanders vs Hurricanes
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Lions
Saturday 21st March
06:35Crusaders vs Cheetahs
15:05Bulls vs Western Force
17:10Sharks vs Chiefs
Sunday 22nd March
05:05Waratahs vs Brumbies
Friday 27th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Melbourne Rebels
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 28th March
05:30Chiefs vs Cheetahs
06:35Highlanders vs Stormers
08:40Waratahs vs Blues
15:05Sharks vs Western Force

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com