Home team Away Team


  • Smith (2), Thomson (3), Mackintosh, Poki,
    Conversions: Noakes (4),
43 - 12

Melbourne Rebels

  • Penalty goals: O'Connor (4),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 30th Mar 2012
  • KO 07:35
  • Ground: Forsyth Barr, Dunedin

Highlanders v Rebels: Teams

At Rugby Park, Friday March 30, kick-off 7.35am

Last updated: 29th March 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

James O Connor Rebels v Cheetahs 2012

James O'Connor: Has recovered from a hamstring strain

Adam Thomson chiefs v highlanders

Adam Thomson: Returns to the Highlanders line-up

Related links


Also see

The Highlanders have made four changes to their line-up for the visit of the Rebels on Friday.

Having lost their unbeaten record to the Brumbies last time out, coach Jamie Joseph has opted to freshen up his line-up.

All Blacks back-rower Adam Thomson, veteran hooker Jason Rutledge and lock Jarrad Hoeata come into the backs, while Chris Noakes replaces Colin Slade at fly-half.

Slade is to miss the rest of the season after breaking his leg, with Andrew Hore (calf) also missing through injury.

There is a positional switch, with James Haskell moving to the openside to accommodate Thomson's return.

The Rebels will be buoyed by the return of Australia internationals James O'Connor and Kurtley Beale for the trip to Invercargill.

O'Connor (hamstring) and Beale (calf) both missed the win over the Force but they have been passed fit to start at fly-half and full-back respectively.

O'Connor replaces Danny Cipriani, who has been sidelined with a hamstring injury of his own.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 James Haskell, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Jarrad Hoeata, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Chris King, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (c).
Replacements: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Ma'afu Fia, 18 Culum Retallick, 19 Doug Tietjens, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Phil Burleigh, 22 Buxton Popoali'i.

Rebels: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Mark Gerrard, 13 Lachlan Mitchell, 12 Lloyd Johansson, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 James O'Connor, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve (c), 7 Tom Chamberlain, 6 Jarrod Saffy, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Adam Freier, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Rodney Blake, 18 Alister Campbell, 19 Michael Lipman, 20 Nic Stirzaker, 21 James Hilgendorf, 22 Julian Huxley.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com