Home team Away Team


  • Woodcock, Stanley,
    Penalty goals: Anscombe (2),
    Drop goals: Anscombe,
    Conversions: Anscombe (2),
23 - 29


  • Sykes, Daniel, Burden, Whitehead,
    Penalty goals: Lambie,
    Conversions: Lambie (3),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 13th Apr 2012
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: Eden Park, Auckland

Blues v Sharks: Teams

Eden Park, Friday April 13, kick-off 8.35am

Last updated: 12th April 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Patrick Lambie Sharks

Patrick Lambie: Missed the past two games for the Sharks

Liaki Moli

Liaki Moli: Gets the nod ahead of Ali Williams for the Blues

Related links


Also see

Liaki Moli has been called in to the starting XV as the Blues look to turn their season around against the Sharks.

Moli replaces the benched Ali Williams in the second row as one of four changes following the shock defeat to the Rebels last time out.

Brothers Daniel and Luke Braid return to the back-row, while Hadleigh Parkes comes in on the wing.

Under-fire Piri Weepu, who was criticised by captain Keven Mealamu for his fitness, remains on the bench.


The Sharks will be buoyed by the return of fly-half Patrick Lambie for the trip to Auckland.

The South Africa international has missed the past two matches through injury, however he replaces the benched Frederic Michalak in the No.10 jersey.

The other change to the starting XV sees Jean Deysel handed his first start of the season - with Willem Alberts having to settle for a place among the replacements.

That means Tim Whitehead and Marcell Coetzee have been passed fit to play despite earlier injury concerns.

Meyer Bosman and Kyle Cooper, who has teamed up with the squad after Bismarck du Plessis returned home, come in on the bench.

Blues: 15 Rudi Wulf, 14 Hadleigh Parkes, 13 Benson Stanley, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Rene Ranger, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Chris Lowrey, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Luke Braid, 5 Liaki Moli, 4 Filo Paulo, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Tom McCartney, 17 Tevita Mailau, 18 Ali Williams, 19 Peter Saili, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Michael Hobbs, 22 George Moala.

Sharks: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel (c), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Jandré Marais, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Frederic Michalak.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com