Home team Away Team


  • Strauss, Meyer,
    Penalty goals: Taute, Jantjies,
    Conversions: James,
18 - 32


  • Ndungane, Kirchner, Hougaard, Kruger, Stander,
    Penalty goals: Steyn,
    Conversions: Steyn (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 14th Apr 2012
  • KO 18:10

Lions v Bulls: Teams

At Coca-Cola Park, Saturday April 14, kick-off 6.10pm

Last updated: 12th April 2012  

jj Engelbrecht

JJ Engelbrecht: Will make his first start for the Bulls

James Kamana Lions 2012

James Kamana: Comes in to a new-look Lions back division

Related links


Also see

Lions coach John Mitchell has reacted to the loss to the Cheetahs by making a number of changes for the clash with the Bulls.

The Lions went down 26-5 to the Cheetahs to remain rooted to the bottom of the table - and facing the prospect of being replaced at the end of the season.

As a result, winger James Kamana comes into a rejigged back division - with Jaco Taute moving from full-back to outside centre, Andries Coetzee taking over the No.15 jersey and Alwyn Hollenbach switching to inside centre. Butch James drops to the bench.

In the pack, lock Stephan Greeff and hooker Callie Visagie come into the side for 19-year-old Paul Willemse and Martin Bezuidenhout.

On the other hand, the Bulls have made just the two changes - with starts for JJ Engelbrecht and Wilhelm Steenkamp.

Engelbrecht comes in for Johann Sadie at outside centre to make his first start for the Bulls, while former Sharks and Cheetahs lock Steenkamp replaces Juandre Kruger.

Both Kruger and Sadie drop to the bench for the trip.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 James Kamana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Josh Strauss (captain), 7 Derrick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 CJ van der Linde / Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Doppies le Roux, 20 Ross Cronjé, 21 Butch James, 22 Lionel Mapoe.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Juandre Kruger, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Johann Sadie.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com