Home team Away Team


  • Smith, Eaton, Taylor, Savea, Perenara,
    Penalty goals: Barrett (2),
    Conversions: Barrett (2),
35 - 19


  • Stanley,
    Penalty goals: Weepu (4),
    Conversions: Munro,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 4th May 2012
  • KO 07:35
  • Ground: Westpac Trust Stadium

Hurricanes v Blues: Teams

At Westpac Stadium, Friday May 4, kick-off 7.35am

Last updated: 2nd May 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Michael Hobbs

Michael Hobbs: Replaces the axed Gareth Anscombe

Brad Shields Hurricanes 2012

Brad Shields: Returns from injury to start on the bench

Related links


Also see

The Hurricanes have opted to retain the same starting XV for the visit of the Blues despite a disappointing 33-14 defeat to the Chiefs last time out.

Mark Hammett's team were comprehensively beaten by the table-topping Chiefs in Hamilton, following on from their 42-14 rout by the Crusaders.

However the only change in the match-day 22 comes in the bench, with Brad Shields returning from injury to replace Mark Reddish, who has a rib problem.

The luckless Blues have handed Michael Hobbs the No.10 jersey for the trip to Wellington.

Hobbs replaces the axed Gareth Anscombe as one of three changes to the starting XV, with Benson Stanley and Chris Lowrey also coming in.

Stanley replaces Rudi Wulf, with Rene Ranger shifting to the wing, while Lowrey starts ahead of Daniel Braid.

Anscombe is omitted completely from the squad so Lachie Munro will provide cover on the bench.

Hurricanes: 15 Andre Taylor, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith (c), 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Faifili Levave, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Ben May.
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Reg Goodes, 18 Jack Lam, 19 Brad Shields, 20 Chris Eaton, 21 Charlie Ngatai, 22 Alapati Leiua.

Blues: 15 Hadleigh Parkes, 14 Rene Ranger, 13 Benson Stanley, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 George Moala, 10 Michael Hobbs, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Luke Braid (c), 6 Chris Lowrey, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Filo Paulo, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Tom McCartney, 1 Tevita Mailau.
Replacements: 16 James Parsons, 17 Angus Ta'avao, 18 Liaki Moli, 19 Daniel Braid, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Lachie Munro, 22 David Raikuna.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com