Home team Away Team


  • Strauss,
    Penalty goals: de Bruyn, Ebersohn (3),
17 - 13

Western Force

  • Stanley,
    Penalty goals: Harvey (2),
    Conversions: Harvey,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 5th May 2012
  • KO 17:10

Cheetahs v W Force: Teams

At Free State Stadium, Saturday May 5, kick-off 6.10pm, live on Sky Sports Xtra

Last updated: 3rd May 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Cheetahs v W Force: Teams

Sias Ebersohn: Starts for the Cheetahs against Western Force

Related links


Also see

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has called on Sias Ebersohn as Johan Goosen's replacement for Saturday's clash with the Western Force in Bloemfontein.

Goosen dislocated his shoulder in the Cheetahs' home defeat to the Highlanders at the weekend, aggravating an injury he picked up against the Chiefs a couple of weeks ago, and he will be out of action for at least four months.

Ebersohn, who has bemoaned the little game time he has received this season, now starts, while Riaan Smit, the Free State's ten in the Vodacom Cup, comes in as back-up on the bench.

Ebersohn will be out to prove himself after missing a penalty kick from right in front that could have presented the Cheetahs with a much-needed win over the Highlanders.

"Missing that penalty against the Highlanders was a really bad feeling," he said on Wednesday.

"It is something I want to forget. I've been looking for more game time and now it is presented to me.

"I have to make use of this opportunity and re-establish myself in the team."

George Earle starts at lock in place of Andries Ferreira. The latter started against the Highlanders as part of the team's rotation policy, but Earle has been a stalwart in the line-outs and will be a key factor against the Force. Tewis de Bruyn remains at scrum-half.

Western Force team news to follow....

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Cameron Jacobs, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Willie le Roux, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Justin Downey, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 George Earle, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Andries Ferreira, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Riaan Smit, 22 Philip Snyman.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com