Home team Away Team


  • Hoeata,
    Penalty goals: Delany (3),
    Conversions: Delany,
16 - 11


  • Wepener,
    Penalty goals: Steyn (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 19th May 2012
  • KO 06:30
  • Ground: Forsyth Barr, Dunedin

Highlanders v Bulls: Teams

At Forsyth Barr Stadium, Saturday May 19, kick-off 6.30am

Last updated: 18th May 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Morne Steyn Bulls v Waratahs 2012

Morne Steyn: Will make his 100th appearance for the Bulls

jamie Mackintosh

Jamie Mackintosh: Back to skipper the Highlanders

Related links


Also see

The Highlanders will look to climb back into the top-six places when they tackle the Bulls in Dunedin.

After a great start to the season, Jamie Joseph's side have dropped out of the play-off places - and things will not get any easier against the table toppers.

Joseph has made four changes for the clash - with Jamie Mackintosh, Jason Rutledge and Tim Boys replacing the rested Chris King, Andrew Hore and Josh Bekhuis.

In the backs, Mike Delany returns at fly-half in place of Chris Noakes.

The Bulls, who have won eight of their 10 matches, have made three changes - with Wynand Olivier, Dewald Potgieter and Dean Greyling called into the starting XV. Francois Venter, Deon Stegmann and Dawie Steyn all make way.

The match will see Morne Steyn make his 100th Super Rugby appearance for the Bulls - with the Springbok fly-half having passed the magical 1,000-point barrier this season.

The Round 13 clash at Forsyth Barr Stadium will see Steyn become the sixth player from the franchise to reach a century of Super Rugby matches.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Siale Piutau, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Mike Delany, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Tim Boys, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Nick Crosswell, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Ma'afu Fia, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (capt).
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Bronson Murray, 18 Hoani MacDonald/Josh Bekhuis, 19 Scott Fuglistaller, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Chris Noakes, 22 Kenny Lynn.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 CJ Stander, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Rayno Gerber, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouch, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com