Home team Away Team


  • McCaw, Flynn (2), Ellis, Guildford, Whitelock, Todd, Romano, Marshall,
    Conversions: Carter (6), Bleyendaal,
59 - 12


  • Munro (2),
    Conversions: Anscombe,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 19th May 2012
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: AMI Stadium, Christchurch

Crusaders v Blues: Teams

At AMI Stadium, Saturday May 19, kick-off 8.35am

Last updated: 17th May 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Steven Luatua Auckland v North harbour 2011

Steven Luatua: Named in the back row for the Blues

dan carter

Dan Carter: Back at fly-half for the Crusaders

Related links


Also see

The Crusaders have strengthened their line-up for the visit of the Blues to Christchurch on Saturday.

The majority of the changes made by coach Todd Blackadder have come in the backs, with All Blacks internationals Dan Carter, Israel Dagg and Andy Ellis returning.

Adam Whitelock and Ryan Crotty are also included in the backs, with New Zealand skipper Richie McCaw has been handed the No.8 jersey.

Luke Whitelock, Kieran Read and Tom Taylor all miss the game through injury.

Blues coach Pat Lam has added Steven Luatua and Tevita Mailau to his line-up.

Luatua's inclusion on the blindside means Daniel Braid starts on the openside and Luke Braid is handed the No.8 shirt.

Mailau starts at tighthead prop as Charlie Faumuina has been ruled out for six weeks with a torn calf.

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Adam Whitelock, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Richie McCaw (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Tyler Bleyendaal, 22 Tom Marshall.

Blues: 15 Hadleigh Parkes, 14 David Raikuna, 13 Ma'a Nonu, 12 Michael Hobbs, 11 Benson Stanley, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Luke Braid (c), 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Liaki Moli, 3 Tevita Mailau, 2 Tom McCartney, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 James Parsons, 17 Angus Ta'avao, 18 Filo Paulo, 19 Peter Saili, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Lachie Munro, 22 Sherwin Stowers.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com