Home team Away Team


  • Horrell, Tikoirotuma, Cane,
    Penalty goals: Cruden (3),
    Conversions: Cruden (2),
28 - 22


  • Basson,
    Penalty goals: Steyn (5),
    Conversions: Steyn,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 25th May 2012
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: Waikato Stadium

Chiefs v Bulls: Teams

At Waikato Stadium, Friday May 25, kick-off 8.35am

Last updated: 25th May 2012  

Wilhelm Steenkamp in action during Bulls training 2012

Wilhelm Steenkamp: Replaces Juandre Kruger at lock

Kane Thompson chiefs v blues

Kane Thompson: Back at No.8 for the Chiefs

Related links


Also see

The Chiefs have made six changes to their line-up for the mouth-watering encounter with fellow title-challengers, the Bulls.

Props Ben Afeaki and Toby Smith, hooker Hika Elliot, No.8 Kane Thompson, centre Jackson Willison and scrum-half Tawera Kerr-Barlow all come in following their loss to the Reds last time out.

The match will also see Liam Messam become the most-capped Chiefs player of all time.

Messam will make his 90th appearance for the Waikato franchise - meaning he moves clear after sharing the record with Sitiveni Sivivatu.

The Bulls also go into the game on the back of a defeat - with the Pretoria-based outfit having lost to the Highlanders.

However coach Frans Ludeke has made just the one change to the match-day squad, with Juandre Kruger dropping to the bench to accommodate Wilhelm Steenkamp in the second row.

That means Dewald Potgieter and CJ Stander, who suffered knocks in the 16-11 loss in Dunedin, have both mean passed fit to play.

Chiefs: 15 Andrew Horrell, 14 Lelia Masaga , 13 Jackson Willison, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick , 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Arizona Taumalolo, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Robbie Robinson, 22 Maritino Nemani.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 CJ Stander, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Rayno Gerber, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com