Home team Away Team

Melbourne Rebels

  • Vuna,
    Penalty goals: Huxley (4),
    Conversions: Huxley,
19 - 27


  • Smith, Coleman,
    Penalty goals: Mogg (2), Holmes (3),
    Conversions: Holmes,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 1st Jun 2012
  • KO 10:40

Rebels v Brumbies: Teams

At AAMI Park, Melbourne, Friday June 1, kick-off 10.40 BST

Last updated: 28th June 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Rebels v Brumbies: Teams

Stirling Mortlock: Starts at centre for Brumbies

Related links


Also see

Former Brumbies skipper Stirling Mortlock returns to the Rebels starting XV to face his former team in Friday's Super Rugby clash in Melbourne.

Mortlock replaces inside centre Lachie Mitchell who suffered concussion last week.

James Hilgendorf takes over from injured Wallabies star Kurtley Beale at fly-half while Hugh Perrett starts at flanker in the clash with the Australian Super Rugby conference leaders.

Mark Gerrard is named to play despite taking a knock to the sternum in last weekend's heavy loss to the Hurricanes.

Brumbies coach Jake White has made three changes to his starting XV and there is also a change on the bench where Colby Faingaa has been called into matchday for the first time in 2012.

Lock Sam Carter, tighthead prop Dan Palmer and loose forward Ita Vaea have all been rested, with Leon Power, Fotu Auelua and Scott Sio earning selection.

Power will start while Sio and Auelua will be thrown into the action from the bench.

In Palmer's place Ben Alexander will switch to tighthead prop with Ruaidhri Murphy starting at loosehead.

Robbie Coleman has earned his second start of the year at full-back moving Wallaby squad member Jesse Mogg to the wing and Henry Speight to the bench.

Other than Palmer, the remaining seven Brumbies players picked in the Wallabies squad have been included.

Brumbies: 15 Robbie Coleman, 14 Jesse Mogg, 13 Andrew Smith, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben Mowen (c), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Peter Kimlin, 5 Leon Power, 4 Scott Fardy, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Ruaidhri Murphy.
Replacements: 16 Anthony Hegarty, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Fotu Auelua, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 Ian Prior, 21 Henry Speight, 22 Tevita Kuridrani.

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Mark Gerrard, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Stirling Mortlock (C), 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 James Hilgendorf, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Hugh Perrett, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Jono Owen, 2 Adam Freier, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Ged Robinson,17 Rodney Blake,18 Al Campbell,19 Tom Chamberlain,20 Tim Davidson,21 Richard Kingi,22 Nic Stirzaker.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 6th March
Super Rugby
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs
15:05Cheetahs vs Bulls
17:10Stormers vs Sharks
Friday 13th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Blues
11:00Western Force vs Melbourne Rebels
Saturday 14th March
03:30Crusaders vs Lions
06:35Highlanders vs Waratahs
08:40Reds vs Brumbies
13:00Stormers vs Chiefs
15:05Cheetahs vs Sharks
Friday 20th March
06:35Highlanders vs Hurricanes
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Lions
Saturday 21st March
06:35Crusaders vs Cheetahs
15:05Bulls vs Western Force
17:10Sharks vs Chiefs
Sunday 22nd March
05:05Waratahs vs Brumbies
Friday 27th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Melbourne Rebels
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 28th March
05:30Chiefs vs Cheetahs
06:35Highlanders vs Stormers
08:40Waratahs vs Blues
15:05Sharks vs Western Force

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com