Home team Away Team


  • van Rensburg, Minnie, Mapoe, Hattingh,
    Penalty goals: Jantjies (4),
    Conversions: Jantjies (3),
38 - 28


  • Ndungane, Pietersen, Mvovo,
    Penalty goals: Lambie (3),
    Conversions: Lambie (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 2nd Jun 2012
  • KO 16:05

Lions v Sharks: Teams

At Coca-Cola Park Stadium, Saturday June 2, kick-off 5.05pm

Last updated: 1st June 2012  

Odwa Ndungane in the clear for Sharks

Odwa Ndungane: Starts with the Sharks on the wing

Butch James in the sin bin

Butch James: Has served a four-match ban

Related links


Also see

Former South Africa international Butch James will return to the Lions line-up for the clash with the Sharks in Johannesburg.

James has completed his four-match ban and will replace the injured Jaco Taute in the No.12 shirt as one of three changes made by John Mitchell.

Winger Anthony Volminck and second row Hendrik Roodt also start, with Michael Killian and Ruan Botha dropping out of the squad.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has shuffled his bench for the trip to the Lions.

Marius Joubert, Jandre Marais and Louis Ludik are all added to the replaces, with just the one change coming in the starting XV.

With Paul Jordaan away with South Africa Under-20s, Meyer Bosman and JP Pietersen team up in the centres allowing Odwa Ndungane to return on the wing.

Pieter-Steph du Toit is also away with the U20s squad, while Tim Whitehead is still missing through injury.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Butch James, 11 Anthonie Volminck, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Joshua Strauss (c), 7 Grant Hattingh, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 CJ van der Linde.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Etienne Oosthuizen, 19 Cobus Grobbelaar, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Waylon Murray, 22 Ruan Combrinck.

Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel (capt), 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Jandre Marais, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Marius Joubert, 22 Louis Ludik.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 6th March
Super Rugby
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs
15:05Cheetahs vs Bulls
17:10Stormers vs Sharks
Friday 13th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Blues
11:00Western Force vs Melbourne Rebels
Saturday 14th March
03:30Crusaders vs Lions
06:35Highlanders vs Waratahs
08:40Reds vs Brumbies
13:00Stormers vs Chiefs
15:05Cheetahs vs Sharks
Friday 20th March
06:35Highlanders vs Hurricanes
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Lions
Saturday 21st March
06:35Crusaders vs Cheetahs
15:05Bulls vs Western Force
17:10Sharks vs Chiefs
Sunday 22nd March
05:05Waratahs vs Brumbies
Friday 27th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Melbourne Rebels
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 28th March
05:30Chiefs vs Cheetahs
06:35Highlanders vs Stormers
08:40Waratahs vs Blues
15:05Sharks vs Western Force
17:10Bulls vs Crusaders

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com