Home team Away Team


  • Bill Williams, Retallick,
    Penalty goals: Cruden (3),
    Conversions: Cruden,
21 - 28


  • Ellis, Read, Romano,
    Penalty goals: Carter (2),
    Drop goals: Carter,
    Conversions: Carter (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 6th Jul 2012
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: Waikato Stadium

Chiefs v Crusaders: Teams

At Waikato Stadium, Friday July 6, kick-off 8.35am

Last updated: 5th July 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Richie McCaw

Richie McCaw: Switches back to the openside

Sam Cane

Sam Cane: Set to go up against Richie McCaw

Related links


Also see

New Zealand international Sam Cane will go head-to-head with Richie McCaw when the Chiefs take on the Crusaders on Friday.

Cane has been named as the heir apparent to McCaw's No.7 shirt for the All Blacks - and he underlined his credentials with a superb display against Ireland in the third Test.

McCaw wore the No.8 jersey on that occasion, however both players will be on the openside in a mouth-watering encounter.

Cane comes into the Chiefs starting XV as four changes following the win over the Highlanders.

Cane is joined in the pack by Alex Bradley and Sona Taumalolo while Andrew Horrell replaces Jackson Willison in the centres.

McCaw's switch back to his favoured position comes after Kieran Read was passed fit to start at No.8.

Fellow All Blacks Dan Carter, Israel Dagg and Owen Franks also return to line-up, with Matt Todd, Tom Taylor, Sean Maitland and Wyatt Crockett dropping to the bench.

Chiefs: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Andrew Horrell, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Alex Bradley, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Romana Graham, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Jackson Willison, 22 Lelia Masaga.

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Adam Whitelock, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Owen Franks.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 Matt Todd, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Tom Taylor, 22 Sean Maitland.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com