Home team Away Team


  • de Jongh (2),
    Penalty goals: Grant (4),
    Conversions: Grant (2),
26 - 21

Melbourne Rebels

  • Vuna, Blake, Phipps,
    Conversions: Huxley (3),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 14th Jul 2012
  • KO 14:00
  • Ground: Fedsure Park

Stormers v Rebels: Teams

At Newlands, Saturday July 14, kick-off 2pm

Last updated: 13th July 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Rodney Blake rebels training april 2011

Rodney Blake: Replaces Nic Henderson for the Rebels

Deon Fourie having a drink

Deon Fourie: Set to start at No.8

Related links


Also see

The Stormers will look to finish the regular Super Rugby season in pole position when they tackle the Rebels in Cape Town.

With the Chiefs having lost to the Hurricanes on Friday, the Stormers only need to see off the Rebels to leapfrog them into top spot.

The Stormers have tweaked their pack for the clash, with Deon Fourie moving from hooker to No.8 to replace the benched Jebb Sinclair.

That means Tian Liebenberg will come into the front row, while Brok Harris is named on the bench.

The Rebels will welcome back Rodney Blake to their front row for their last game of the season.

The former Australia prop replaces Nic Henderson as one of two changes - with Hugh Pyle also coming into the starting XV.

The Rebels could be forced into making a third change - with Lachlan Mitchell bracketed with Cooper Vuna on the left wing.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Deon Fourie, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Brok Harris, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Quinn Roux, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.

Rebels: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Mark Gerrard, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Stirling Mortlock (c), 11 Cooper Vuna/Lachlan Mitchell, 10 James Hilgendorf, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Hugh Perrett, 6 Tim Davidson, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Jono Owen, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Rodney Blake.
Replacements: 16 Luke Holmes, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Al Campbell, 19 Ryan Hodson, 20 Nic Stirzaker, 21 Cooper Vuna/Lachlan Mitchell, 22 Richard Kingi.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com