Home team Away Team


  • Kankowski, Daniel, McLeod, Coetzee,
    Penalty goals: Michalak (2),
    Conversions: Michalak (4),
34 - 15


  • Penalty goals: Smit (5),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 14th Jul 2012
  • KO 16:05
  • Ground: Kings Park

Sharks v Cheetahs: Teams

Kings Park, Saturday July 14, lick-off 4.05pm

Last updated: 13th July 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Johannes Prinsloo

Johannes Prinsloo: Will win his first Super Rugby cap for the Cheetahs

 Pat Lambie - South Africa training

Pat Lambie: Returns at full-back for the Sharks

Related links


Also see

The Sharks will be targeting the win they need to stand a chance of clinching one of the final play-off spots when they take on the Cheetahs.

The Hurricanes, who beat the Chiefs on Friday, the Reds, the Bulls and the Crusaders are also in the mix for the three remaining play-off places - meaning that all the Sharks can do is win and then hope other results go their way.

The Sharks have been buoyed by news that Pat Lambie, Willem Alberts and Jacques Botes have all passed late fitness tests to take their place in the starting XV.

Lambie will replace Louis Ludik, who drops to the bench alongside Alberts and Botes, while there is also a start for Jandre Marais in the second row.

The Cheetahs will hand South Africa Sevens star Johannes Prinsloo his first Super Rugby cap.

Prinsloo replaces the injured Justin Downey at No.8, while Philip Snyman comes in on the wing and Jacques Coetzee starts on the bench.

Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (capt), 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Jandre Marais, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Pieter-Steph du Toit/Jean Deysel, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Meyer Bosman/Paul Jordaan, 22 Louis Ludik.

Cheetahs: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Nico Scheepers, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Philip Snyman, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Jacques Coetzee, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Andries Strauss.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com