Home team Away Team

New Zealand

  • Dagg, Smith,
    Penalty goals: Cruden (3),
    Conversions: Cruden,
21 - 11

South Africa

  • Habana,
    Penalty goals: Goosen, Steyn,
  • Rugby Championship
  • 15th Sep 2012
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: Forsyth Barr Stadium

New Zealand v S Africa: Teams

At Forsyth Barr Stadium, Saturday September 15, live on Sky Sports 1HD from 8am

Last updated: 15th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Francois Louw SA RWC 2011

Flip van der Merwe: In for the Springboks

Piri Weepu New Zealand training session

Piri Weepu: Back in the All Blacks' starting line-up

Related links


Also see

New Zealand will look to move one step closer to winning the inaugural Rugby Championship title when they face South Africa in Dunedin on Saturday.

The All Blacks are currently five points clear at the top of the table and another victory will put further daylight between them and the second-placed Springboks.

The hosts have made four changes for the contest, with scrum-half Piri Weepu making his first international start since last year's World Cup.

He replaces Aaron Smith, who is dropped out of the squad altogether after breaking team rules, while lock Sam Whitelock, flanker Liam Messam and hooker Andrew Hore also come into the starting XV.

Despite the fact his team owns a perfect record so far, New Zealand captain Richie McCaw thinks the high error-count against Argentina and Australia needs to be corrected.

"What we've got to get right is being able to build pressure on the opposition rather than put it on ourselves," he said.


"They kick a bit but they're pretty good at chasing it and (if) you get the ball at the right end of the field and, if you make mistakes under pressure, they've got guys who will make you pay.

"We want to improve as a team every week and perhaps we've done that in stages, but we haven't put it together yet."

South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer has made two changes for the clash, both of which come within the forwards.

Lock Flip van der Merwe comes in for the suspended Eben Etzebeth while Bath flanker Francois Louw is preferred to Marcell Coetzee in the back-row.

The Springboks could see their hopes of claiming the title this year effectively ended with a defeat.

Captain Jean de Villiers said: "We've obviously got a game plan that we believe in and we will probably stick to that," he said.

"But if it allows us to throw the ball around and we can see the space out wide we'll definitely try and take it into that space."

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (capt), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Reserves: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Tamati Ellison

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (capt), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Reserves: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com