Home team Away Team

New Zealand

  • Jane, Savea,
    Penalty goals: Cruden (3),
    Conversions: Cruden,
21 - 5


  • Roncero,
  • Rugby Championship
  • 8th Sep 2012
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: Westpac Trust Stadium

All Blacks v Argentina - Rugby Championship match preview

Last updated: 8th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe Argentina Rugby Championship 2012

Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe: Needs his side to be perfect in everything they do

Richie McCaw All Blacks training 2012

Richie McCaw: Expecting a battle up front against the Pumas

Related links


Also see

New Zealand captain Richie McCaw is expecting a "battle up front" against Argentina in Wellington on Saturday.

The World Cup winners go into the Rugby Championship clash, live on Sky Sports 3, on the back of two comfortable wins over Australia.

However McCaw is expecting the Pumas to pose some different problems to an All Blacks side that welcomes back Aaron Cruden, Conrad Smith, Julian Savea, Tony Woodcock, Victor Vito and Brodie Retallick.

"Regardless of whether it's wet or dry it's going to be a battle up front," said McCaw. "Our boys have talked about it and they're quite excited if it is wet as it gives them a chance to get stuck in."

Argentina captain Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe is looking for his side to build on the 16-16 draw they recorded against the Springboks last time out.

The Pumas have welcomed back experienced duo Juan Manuel Leguizamon and Juan Martin Hernandez for the clash.

And Lobbe said: "For us, the most important thing is to go one step ahead of what we did two weeks ago against South Africa.

"We need to be perfect in defence, we need to be perfect in attack, I think the word for tomorrow is to try to be perfect in everything we do."

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Victor Vito, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock. Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Liam Messam, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Ben Smith.

Argentina: 15 Martin Rodriguez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Juan Martin Hernandez, 9 Nicolas Vergallo, 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (c), 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Julio Farias Cabello, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Rodrigo Roncero. Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Leonardo Senatore, 20 Tomas Leonardi, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com