Leicester v Saracens: Teams

At Welford Road, Saturday May 12, kick-off 5.30pm

Last updated: 11th May 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Charlie Hodgson Sale

Charlie Hodgson: Backs a welcome return to the Saracens line-up

Ben Youngs Leicester grey long pass

Ben Youngs: Back in the No.9 shirt

Related links


Also see

There will be a repeat of the 2011 Aviva Premiership final on Saturday when Leicester and Saracens clash for a place in this season's Twickenham showpiece.

Leicester have not enjoyed the best of times against Saracens in recent years - with Mark McCall's men having won three in a row at Welford Road, including a six-try rout earlier in the season, as well as the final last year.

However the Tigers will be buoyed by the return of Ben Youngs, George Skivington and Graham Kitchener to the squad, while George Chuter will make his 200th starting appearance for the club.

Saracens welcome back Charlie Hodgson, Will Fraser and Matt Stevens to their line-up.


Hodgson's inclusion means Owen Farrell starts in the centres, Chris Wyles moves to the wing and James Short drops to the bench.

"It's a massive match," said McCall.

"We've had a very good week of preparation but we know it is going to be a very tough game and we will have to be at our best to get the result we want.

"Leicester have a phenomenal semi-final record but we have had some excellent performances in recent weeks with wins against London Irish, Newcastle Falcons and Exeter Chiefs so we are really looking forward to the match."

Leicester: 15 Geordan Murphy (capt), 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 12 Anthony Allen, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Steve Mafi, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 George Skivington, 3 Dan Cole, 2 George Chuter, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Logovi'i Mulipola, 18 Martin Castrogiovanni, 19 Graham Kitchener, 20 Craig Newby, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Billy Twelvetrees, 23 Scott Hamilton.

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 David Strettle, 13 Owen Farrell, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Will Fraser, 6 Jackson Wray, 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 Steve Borthwick (capt), 3 Matt Stevens, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Rhys Gill.
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 John Smit, 18 Carlos Nieto, 19 Hugh Vyvyan, 20 George Kruis, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Adam Powell, 23 James Short.

Click here for more betting