Edinburgh v Zebre: Teams

At Murrayfield, Friday September 14, kick-off 7.30pm

Last updated: 14th September 2012  

Edinburgh v Zebre: Teams

Daniel Halangahu: starts in the centres

Related links


Also see

Zebre will hand a debut to former Waratahs playmaker Daniel Halangahu in Friday's PRO12 clash with Edinburgh at Murrayfield.

Halangahu's first appearance is one of a number of changes made by director of rugby Christian Gajan to the starting XV following the home loss to Connacht last week.

Centre Matteo Pratichetti wins his first ever cap in a Zebre shirt in an all-new midfield, while Alberto Chiesa is handed the fly-half role ahead of Luciano Orquera and Tito Tebaldi features at scrum-half.

On the bench, full-back Paolo Buso and young hooker Andrea Manici are also set for debuts.

Italian international lock Quintin Geldenhuys will be Zebre's skipper for the game in the place of the injured Gonzalo Garcia; veteran second-rower Marco Bortolami is also sidelined.

"This week we worked a lot on the effectiveness of our game: in this is what we're missing,"said Gajan.

"In the first two games we lost too many balls that we had cleverly obtained. For this game we decided to select players who have played less, in order to grow our youngsters"

Great Scott

Meanwhile, Edinburgh have made five changes to the side that started against Cardiff Blues.

Inside centre Matt Scott, who started every match of the Scotland's three-Test June triumph in Australasia, returns for his first match of the new campaign.

The remaining changes come in the pack, with props John Yapp and Willem Nel trading places with Allan Jacobsen and Geoff Cross, who start on the bench.

Scotland's Ross Rennie and Netani Talei of Fiji replace Roddy Grant and the injured David Denton (thigh) in the second row.

Also returning to the squad is Tom Brown, who continues his comeback from a hamstring strain as replacement.

Edinburgh: 15 Greig Tonks, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Laidlaw (capt), 9 Richie Rees, 8 Netani Talei, 7 Ross Rennie, 6 Stuart McInally, 5 Sean Cox, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Willem Nel, 2 Ross Ford, 1 John Yapp.
Replacements: 16 Andy Titterrell, 17 Allan Jacobsen, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Perry Parker, 20 Dimitri Basilaia, 21 Chris Leck, 22 John Houston, 23 Tom Brown.

Zebre: 15 Sinoti Sinoti, 14 Giovanbattista Venditti, 13 Matteo Pratichetti, 12 Daniel Halangahu, 11 Ruggero Trevisan, 10 Alberto Chiesa, 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Andries van Schalkwyk, 7 Mauro Bergamasco, 6 Emiliano Caffini, 5 Josh Sole, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys, 3 Luciano Leibson, 2 Carlo Festuccia, 1 Andrea De Marchi.
Replacements: 16 Andrea Manici, 17 Matias Aguero, 18 Luca Redolfini, 19 Filippo Cazzola, 20 Filippo Ferrarini, 21 Alberto Chillon, 22 Paolo Buso, 23 Alberto Benettin.

Click here for more betting