Home team Away Team


  • Balshaw, Burotu,
    Penalty goals: Yachvili,
    Conversions: Yachvili (2),
17 - 0


  • European Rugby Champions Cup
  • Pool 3
  • 14th Dec 2012
  • KO 20:00
  • Ground: Parc des Sports Aguilera
  • Att: 5,000

Biarritz vs Connacht: Heineken Cup match preview

Last updated: 14th December 2012  

Imanol Harinordoquy Biarritz Heineken Cup Launch

Imanol Harinordoquy: Will return to captain Biarritz

Connacht Johnny OConnor

Johnny O'Connor: Will replace Willie Faloon in Connacht's back row

Related links


Also see

Connacht have named just one change to the starting XV for their clash against Biarritz, following last Friday's 22-14 win over the former Heineken Cup finalists.

Coach Eric Elwood has selected Johnny O'Connor to replace Willie Faloon in the back row where he is joined by Eoin McKeon and Andrew Browne. Earlier this week Faloon was ruled out of selection due to a fractured eye socket he incurred at the Sportsground on Friday night.

As Connacht look for a historic French double, Dan Parks will lead his side out at the Parc des Sports Aguilera.

He is this season's leading points scorer on 48 points, bringing his all-time total to 403. The fly-half is just two points short of reaching the half-century mark in the Heineken Cup for the fifth time in eight seasons.

Having this week signed a full contract with Connacht Rugby, 19-year-old Robbie Henshaw will line up at full-back.

Meanwhile, Imanol Harinordoquy will return to captain Biarritz at number eight for the rematch.

The French side will be looking to make amends following Connacht's upset defeat in Galway in Round 3.

Harinordoquy will start along with Jean-Pascal Barraque, Damien Traille, Julien Peyrelongue and Pelu Taele. Magnus Lund has been named amongst the replacements.

Following last Friday's loss, Biarritz coaches Jack Issac and Serge Milhas were sacked, leaving manager Laurent Rodriguez and Mathieu Rourre, academy director, in charge of selection for this week's game.

Biarritz: 15 Iain Balshaw, 14 Taku Ngwenya, 13 Jean-Pascal Barraque, 12 Damien Traille, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Julien Peyrelongue, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Imanol Harinordoquy (c), 7 Raphael Lakafia, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Pelu Taele, 4 Erik Lund, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Benoit August, 1 Fabien Barcella.
Replacements: 16 Jean-Philippe Genevois, 17 Lodewicus Blaauw, 18 Thomas Synaeghe, 19 Thibault Dubarry, 20 Magnus Lundy, 21 Yann Lesgourgues, 22 Seremaïa Burotu, 23 Marcelo Bosch.

Connacht: 15 Robbie Henshaw, 14 Tiernan O'Halloran, 13 Danie Poolman, 12 Dave McSharry, 11 Fetu'u Vainikolo, 10 Dan Parks, 9 Kieran Marmion, 8 Eoin McKeon, 7 Johnny O'Connor, 6 Andrew Browne, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Mick Kearney, 3 Ronan Loughney, 2 Jason Harris Wright, 1 Brett Wilkinson.
Replacements: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Dennis Buckley, 18 JP Cooney, 19 Danny Qualter, 20 George Naoupu, 21 Paul O'Donohoe, 22 Miah Nikora, 23 Matthew Jarvis.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming European Rugby Champions Cup Fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday 5th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
19:45Montpellier vs Bath
Saturday 6th December
13:00Sale vs Saracens
17:30Munster vs Clermont Auvergne
19:45Ulster vs Scarlets
13:00Benetton Treviso vs Northampton
15:15Ospreys vs Racing Metro 92
Sunday 7th December
13:00Castres vs Wasps
15:15Harlequins vs Leinster
17:30Leicester vs Toulon
15:15Toulouse vs Glasgow
Friday 12th December
19:45Bath vs Montpellier
Saturday 13th December
17:15Saracens vs Sale
19:45Leinster vs Harlequins
15:15Toulon vs Leicester
13:00Glasgow vs Toulouse
15:15Northampton vs Benetton Treviso
17:15Racing Metro 92 vs Ospreys
Sunday 14th December
15:15Clermont Auvergne vs Munster
13:00Wasps vs Castres
17:15Scarlets vs Ulster
Saturday 17th January
TBCSaracens vs Munster
TBCSale vs Clermont Auvergne
TBCHarlequins vs Wasps
TBCLeinster vs Castres
TBCLeicester vs Scarlets

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com