Home team Away Team


  • Penalty goals: Laidlaw (4),
12 - 8


  • Gilroy,
    Penalty goals: Jackson,
  • RBS Six Nations
  • 24th Feb 2013
  • KO 14:00
  • Ground: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
  • Att: 67,006

Scotland v Ireland - Six Nations match preview

Last updated: 22nd February 2013  

 Paddy Jackson Ireland v Fiji

Paddy Jackson: fought off Ronan O'Gara to replace Johnny Sexton

Geoff Cross

Geoff Cross: Only change to the Scotland side

Related links


Also see

Edinburgh prop Geoff Cross is the only change to the Scotland starting line-up ahead of their Six Nations meeting with Ireland at Murrayfield on Sunday.

Cross is the only change from a team buoyed by their 34-10 victory over Italy a fortnight ago and replaces Euan Murray - the Worcester tighthead unavailable due to his Christian faith.

Scotland coach Scott Johnson has re-shuffled his bench however, with both Dougie Hall and Jon Welsh gaining their place after recovering from injuries.

Alastair Kellock - who is also named as a substitute - will become the 34th Scot to reach the landmark of 50 caps for his country should he be introduced.

Ringing the changes

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has made no fewer than seven changes to the Ireland team ahead of their trip to Murrayfield.

Ulster fly-half Paddy Jackson fought off competition from Irish stalwart Ronan O'Gara to take the place of the injured Johnny Sexton.

Six other changes see the uncapped Luke Marshall named at inside centre in place of the injured Gordon D'Arcy, whilst Ulster prop Tom Court also starts as a replacement for the suspended Cian Healy.

Keith Earls comes onto the left wing to replace the injured Simon Zebo, whilst Donnacha O'Callaghan starts in the second row alongside Donnacha Ryan. Leinster lock Devin Toner and Ulster back rown Iain Henderson are named amongst the replacements.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Sean Lamont, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Johnnie Beattie, 7 Kelly Brown (c), 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Geoff Cross, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant.
Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Moray Low, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Alastair Kellock, 20 David Denton, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Max Evans.

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Craig Gilroy, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Tom Court.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Declan Fitzpatrick, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Iain Henderson, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ronan O'Gara, 23 Luke Fitzgerald.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming RBS Six Nations Fixtures
RBS Six Nations
Saturday 14th March
RBS Six Nations
14:30Wales vs Ireland
17:00England vs Scotland
Sunday 15th March
15:00Italy vs France
Saturday 21st March
12:30Italy vs Wales
14:30Scotland vs Ireland
17:00England vs France
Today's Results
RBS Six Nations
Sunday 1st March
RBS Six Nations
Ireland 19 - 9 England
Saturday 28th February
France 13 - 20 Wales
Scotland 19 - 22 Italy
Sunday 15th February
Scotland 23 - 26 Wales
Saturday 14th February
Ireland 18 - 11 France
England 47 - 17 Italy
Saturday 7th February
France 15 - 8 Scotland
Italy 3 - 26 Ireland
Friday 6th February
Wales 16 - 21 England

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com