Home team Away Team


  • Ralepelle,
    Penalty goals: Steyn (6),
    Conversions: Steyn,
25 - 17


  • De Villiers, Bekker,
    Penalty goals: Pietersen,
    Conversions: Pietersen (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 22nd Feb 2013
  • KO 17:10
  • Ground: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Bulls v Stormers - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 22nd February 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Elton Jantjies Stormers 2013

Elton Jantjies: Handed a debut by the Stormers

Lionel Mapoe Bulls SR 2013

Lionel Mapoe: Will make his first appearance for the Bulls

Related links


Also see

Former Lions winger Lionel Mapoe is one of two debutants in the Bulls line-up for Friday's Super Rugby opener with the Stormers.

Mapoe, who also had a brief spell at the Cheetahs, is joined in the starting XV by prop Morne Mellett.

It will be a belated debut for Mellett after he toured with the Bulls last season but failed to make an appearance.

South Africa internationals Dean Greyling, Akona Ndungane and Jacques Potgieter all miss the clash due to injury, though, while Emerging Springbok lock Wilhelm Steenkamp is also out of action.


The Stormers will hand debuts to Jaco Taute, Elton Jantjies, Damian de Allende and Pat Cilliers at Loftus Versfeld.

Taute, de Allende and Jantjies will bolster the back division, while Cilliers starts at tighthead prop.

Martin Bezuidenhout is also poised to make his first appearance for the side after being named on the bench as cover for hooker Deon Fourie.

Joining Bezuidenhout among the replacements will be fit-again Nizaam Carr and Dewaldt Duvenage - with the duo having missed large parts of last year with injury.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Morne Mellett.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouchè, 22 Francois Venter.

Stormers: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Don Armand, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Dewaldt Duvenage, 21 Gerhard van den Heever, 22 Joe Pietersen.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 13th February
Super Rugby
06:35Crusaders vs Melbourne Rebels
08:40Brumbies vs Reds
17:10Lions vs Hurricanes
Saturday 14th February
06:35Blues vs Chiefs
15:05Sharks vs Cheetahs
17:05Bulls vs Stormers
Sunday 15th February
06:05Waratahs vs Western Force
Friday 20th February
06:35Chiefs vs Brumbies
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Waratahs
17:10Bulls vs Hurricanes
Saturday 21st February
06:35Highlanders vs Crusaders
08:40Reds vs Western Force
15:05Stormers vs Blues
17:10Sharks vs Lions
Friday 27th February
06:35Highlanders vs Reds
11:00Western Force vs Hurricanes
17:10Cheetahs vs Blues
Saturday 28th February
06:35Chiefs vs Crusaders
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Brumbies
15:05Bulls vs Sharks
17:10Lions vs Stormers
Friday 6th March
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com