Home team Away Team

Melbourne Rebels

  • Higginbotham,
    Penalty goals: O'Connor (2),
    Conversions: O'Connor,
13 - 30


  • Rathbone, Mowen, Coleman, Mogg,
    Penalty goals: Lealifano (2),
    Conversions: Lealifano (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 22nd Feb 2013
  • KO 08:40
  • Ground: AAMI Park, Melbourne

Melbourne Rebels v Brumbies - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 22nd February 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Joe Tomane Brumbies SR 2012

Joe Tomane: In line to start for Brumbies

Damien Hill

Damien Hill: Named an unchanged side

Related links




Also see

Melbourne Rebels coach Damien Hill has named an unchanged 22-man squad for Friday's Super Rugby clash with the Brumbies at AAMI Park.

That means Australian fly-half James O'Connor will get the chance to add to his impressive 15-point tally against Western Force last time out, and with a relatively new squad, Melbourne will be looking to build on an already-apparent cohesion.

Hill's side come into the game on the back of an impressive 30-23 victory over the Force and will be aiming for back-to-back wins when the host the Brumbies.

Brumbies coach Jake White makes one forced change to the starting side which beat the Reds 24-6 last week, with Joe Tomane handed a start at No.14.

Tomane replaces Fijian flyer Henry Speight, who damaged his ribs during last week's clash - although positive news for Brumbies fans is that the injury is not serious.

Young gun Tevita Kuridrani will make his first appearance of 2013 on the Brumbies bench - due to Speight's injury - and will be joined by Scott Sio who has claimed the number 17 jersey ahead of Ruaidhri Murphy.

Melbourne Rebels: 15 James O'Connor, 14 Lachlan Mitchell, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Rory Sidey, 11 Richard Kingi, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Nic Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Luke Jones, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Shota Horie, 17 Paul Alo Emile, 18 Cadeyrn Neville, 19 Jarrod Saffy, 20 Nick Stirzaker, 21 Alex Rokobaro, 22 Tom English.

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Joe Tomane, 13 Andrew Smith, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Clyde Rathbone, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben Mowen (c), 7 David Pocock, 6 Peter Kimlin, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Scott Fardy, 3 Dan Palmer, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Ben Alexander.
Replacements: 16 Siliva Siliva, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Fotu Auelua, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 Ian Prior, 21 Robbie Coleman, 22 Tevita Kuridrani.

Click here for more betting
Today's Results
Super Rugby
Saturday 2nd August
Super Rugby
Waratahs 33 - 32 Crusaders

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com