Home team Away Team


  • Crockett, Read, Fruean, Heinz, Marshall, McNicholl,
    Penalty goals: Carter,
    Conversions: Carter (4),
41 - 19


  • Stegman,
    Penalty goals: Steyn (4),
    Conversions: Steyn,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 16th Mar 2013
  • KO 06:35
  • Ground: AMI Stadium, Christchurch

Crusaders v Bulls: Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 15th March 2013  

 Crusaders players downcast after losing to Hurricanes

Crusaders: started Super Rugby season with two defeats

Lionel Mapoe and Wynand Olivier Bulls v W Force 2013

Lionel Mapoe (left): Bulls back is ruled out due to injury

Related links



Also see

The Crusaders' search for their first victory of the season continues on Saturday as they take on the undefeated Bulls in Christchurch.

Seven-time Super Rugby champions Crusaders have started the season with back-to-back defeats against the Blues and the Hurricanes.

Meanwhile at the top of the table the Bulls remain one of only three teams unbeaten in the 2013 campaign leaving them comfortably positioned in second.

Sunday's victory at Eden Park against the Blues will give confidence to the South African outfit as they continue their New Zealand tour.

History will be rewritten however if the Bulls are to retain their winning streak with their last victory on Crusaders turf coming in the inaugural Super Rugby season of 1996.


A shoulder injury picked up during the victory over the Blues has ruled Lionel Mapoe out, paving way for Jurgen Visser to make his first start.

Utility back Visser is named the left wing for the Bulls following a successful debut from the bench last weekend.

Visser's place on the bench is taken by Jan Serfontein while the rest of Frans Ludeke's squad remains unchanged from their 28-21 victory in Auckland.

Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder has made one change to the squad which suffered defeat at the hands of the Hurricanes.

Tyler Bleyendaal makes the bench with Tom Taylor unavailable due to a medial ligament injury.

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Tom Marshall, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Johnny McNicholl, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Dominic Bird, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett

Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 Luke Whitelock, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Tyler Bleyendaal, 22 Adam Whitelock

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jürgen Visser, 10 Mornè Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Juandrè Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Mornè Mellett

Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Jacques Potgieter, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Jan Serfontein

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com