Home team Away Team

Western Force

  • Stanley,
    Penalty goals: Hayward,
    Conversions: Ebersohn,
10 - 19


  • Le Roux,
    Penalty goals: Smit (4),
    Conversions: Smit,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • KO 10:45
  • Ground: nib Stadium

Western Force v Cheetahs - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 23rd March 2013  

Cheetahs centre Robert Ebersohn scoring a try

Centre Robert Ebersohn scored for Cheetahs against Waratahs last time out

Matt Hodgson having a run for Western Force

Matt Hodgson is back in action for Western Force.

Related links





Also see

Western Force welcome back captain Matt Hodgson and lock Sam Wykes for their Super Rugby clash against the Cheetahs on Saturday.

Force flanker Hodgson suffered a hamstring injury in pre-season and a further set back in Pretoria against the Bulls rules him out.

Hodgson will be a welcome return for the Force, who have registered just one win so far in 2013 Super Rugby campaign.

Meanwhile the Cheetahs look for a third successive victory after snatching a 27-26 win against the Waratahs last week.


Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has made two changes to his stating line up as Heinrich Brussow replaces the injured Frans Viljoen and Riaan Smit starts at fly-half with Johan Goosen ruled out.

Boom Prinsloo and Francis Burton have been promoted to the Cheetahs bench for the trip to Perth.

Force remain without winger Nick Cummins who is still suffering with a knee injury while lock Wykes returns to the squad alongside skipper Hodgson.

Saturday's match could mark Alfie Mafi's 50th Super Rugby appearance as the Force play their first home game since the $95million redevelopment of the nib Stadium.

Western Force squad: Chris Alcock, Richard Brown, Nathan Charles, Angus Cottrell, Pek Cowan, Patrick Fellit, Sias Ebersohn, Tetera Faulkner, Kyle Godwin, Jayden Hayward, Matt Hodgson (capt), Toby Lynn, Salesi Ma'afu, Alfie Mafi, Alby Mathewson, Ben McCalman, Hugh McMeniman, Junior Rasolea, Mick Snowden, Winston Stanley, Heath Tessmann, Will Tupou, Sam Wykes.

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johan Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Phillip van der Walt, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (capt), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17, Coenie Oosthuisen, 18 Ligtoring Landman, 19 Boom Prinsloo, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Francis Burton, 22 Ryno Benjamin.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com