Home team Away Team


  • Mitchell, Folau, Foley,
    Penalty goals: McKibbin, Foley (2),
    Conversions: McKibbin, Foley (2),
30 - 27


  • Noakes, Parsons, Piutau,
    Penalty goals: Noakes (2),
    Conversions: Noakes (3),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 24th Mar 2013
  • KO 05:05
  • Ground: Allianz Stadium

Waratahs v Blues: Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 24th March 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Rob Horne Waratahs v Bulls 2012

Rob Horne comes into the Waratahs starting XV with Berrick Barnes injured.

john kirwan

Blues coach John Kirwan rings the changes ahead of the Waratahs clash.

Related links


Also see

Blues coach John Kirwan has made six changes to his starting line-up for their Super Rugby encounter against the Waratahs on Sunday.

After surrendering their unbeaten record against the Bulls last time out Kirwan is looking for his side to get back to winning ways.

The Blues currently sit fourth in the Super Rugby table and will look to assert pressure on the Brumbies at the head of the standings.

Meanwhile, the Waratahs have registered just one win this season, triumphing against the Melbourne Rebels by a 26-21 scoreline in Sydney.


Kirwan made several changes to the Blues side ahead of their clash with the Bulls two weeks ago but defeat has seen him revert back to an old formula.

Chris Noakes, George Moala, Peter Saili, Culum Retallick, James Parsons and Tom McCartney all return to the starting XV as Kirwan reverts to the line-up which won the opening two Super Rugby fixtures.

Waratahs coach Michael Cheika names Rob Horne at inside centre in place of the injured Berrick Barnes.

Drew Mitchell also comes into the starting line-up on the left wing as newcomer Peter Betham switches to the right.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Peter Betham, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Rob Horne, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Pat McCutcheon, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Benn Robinson.

Replacements: 16 Luke Holmes, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Mitchell Chapman, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Matt Lucas, 21 Ben Volavola, 22 Tom Kingston.

Blues: 15 Charles Piutua, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Francis Saili, 11 George Moala, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 James Parsons, 1 Tom McCartney.

Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Angus Ta'avao, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Jamison Gibson-Park, 21 Baden Kerr, 22 Jackson Willison.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com