Home team Away Team


  • Bekker (2), Aplon, van den Heever,
    Penalty goals: Pietersen (3),
    Conversions: Pietersen (3),
35 - 22


  • Speight,
    Penalty goals: Lealifano (5),
    Conversions: Lealifano,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • KO 17:10
  • Ground: Fedsure Park

Stormers v Brumbies - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 23rd March 2013  

Nic White Brumbies 2013

Nic White remains on the sidelines after sustaining a shoulder injury

Juan de Jongh Springboks training 2012

Juan de Jongh is back in action for the Stormers

Related links


Also see

The Stormers welcome back Juan de Jongh as they host an undefeated Brumbies side in Saturday's Super Rugby clash.

Springbok De Jongh plays his first competitive match of 2013 following a hamstring injury sustained during pre-season.

The Stormers look for only their second victory of the season following their narrow 36-34 victory against the Chiefs last week.

Meanwhile the visitors are the only Super Rugby team with an undefeated record still intact as they look to extend their lead at the head of the table.

This will be the 16th match between the two sides with the Brumbies running out victorious in ten of the previous encounters.


De Jongh's return has seen Stormers coach Allister Coetzee switch captain Jean de Villiers to inside centre which demotes Damian de Allende to the bench having started in the three previous fixtures.

Meanwhile Gerhard van den Heever makes his first start in the backline as replacement for the injured Bryan Habana and Dewaldt Duvenage takes the scrum-half position with Nic Groom dropped to the bench.

Brumbies coach Jake White has made just two changes to his side for the trip to Newlands with Ian Prior and Dan Palmer in the starting XV.

Prior impressed in the Brumbies' victory against the Sharks as he came on in the 13th minute to replace the injured Nic White while Palmer starts at tighthead prop with Ben Alexander left on the bench.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (capt), 11 Gerhard van den Heever, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Don Armand, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Damian de Allende, 22 Jaco Taute.

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13, Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Fotu Auelua, 7 George Smith, 6 Ben Mowen, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Peter Kimlin, 3 Dan Palmer, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Siliva Siliva, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Scott Fardy, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 Nic White, 21 Robbie Coleman, 22 Clyde Rathbone, 23 Mark Swanepoel.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com