Home team Away Team


  • Kahui, Tameifuna,
    Penalty goals: Anscombe (3),
    Conversions: Anscombe (2),
23 - 16


  • Moala,
    Penalty goals: Noakes (3),
    Conversions: Kerr,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 30th Mar 2013
  • KO 06:35
  • Ground: Waikato Stadium

Chiefs v Blues - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 30th March 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Charlie Faumuina

Charlie Faumuina looks set for a long lay-off after suffering a torn calf

Richard Kahui in Chiefs backline

Richard Kahui makes his first Chiefs start of the 2013 campaign

Related links


Also see

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has made eight changes to his starting line-up ahead of their Super Rugby encounter with the Blues on Saturday.

Richard Kahui will start at inside centre as he takes to the field for the first time this season as the Chiefs welcome the Blues to the Waikato Stadium.

Centre Bundee Aki, number eight Fritz Lee, flanker Tanerau Latimer and prop Toby Smith are all included in the starting XV as Rennie looks to close the gap on the Brumbies at the head of the table.

Augustine Pulu has been brought in at scrum-half after Tawera Kerr-Barlow broke his jaw while Brendon Leonard returns to the bench as he returns from injury where he will be joined by Nick Crosswell, Sam Cane and Andrew Horrell.


The lone change to the Blues starting line-up comes following Charlie Faumuina's torn calf against the Waratahs last week.

Angus Ta'avao will start at tighthead prop in place of Faumuina who looks set to be out for eight weeks.

A change in the starting line-up paves the way for former New Zealand U20 Ofa Tu'ungafasi to join the bench with the prop set for his Super Rugby debut.

Following back-to-back defeats John Kirwan will be eager to see his Blues side to return to winning ways as they take on the defending champions.

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam (capt), 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Michael Fitzgerald, 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Ben Tameifuna, 18 Nick Crosswell, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Patrick Osborne.

Blues: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Francis Saili, 11 George Moala, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Ali Williams (capt), 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 James Parsons, 1 Tom McCartney.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Jamison Gibson-Park, 21 Baden Kerr, 22 Jackson Willison.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 27th March
Super Rugby
06:35Hurricanes vs Melbourne Rebels
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 28th March
05:30Chiefs vs Cheetahs
06:35Highlanders vs Stormers
08:40Waratahs vs Blues
15:05Sharks vs Western Force
17:10Bulls vs Crusaders
Friday 3rd April
07:35Hurricanes vs Stormers
09:40Melbourne Rebels vs Reds
Saturday 4th April
07:35Chiefs vs Blues
09:40Brumbies vs Cheetahs
14:00Sharks vs Crusaders
16:05Lions vs Bulls
Friday 10th April
08:35Blues vs Brumbies
Saturday 11th April
08:35Crusaders vs Highlanders
10:40Waratahs vs Stormers
12:45Western Force vs Cheetahs
14:00Bulls vs Reds
16:05Lions vs Sharks
Friday 17th April
08:35Crusaders vs Chiefs
Saturday 18th April
05:30Hurricanes vs Waratahs
08:35Highlanders vs Blues
10:40Brumbies vs Melbourne Rebels
12:45Western Force vs Stormers
16:05Sharks vs Bulls

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com