Home team Away Team


  • Faingaa, Holmes, Sio, Speight, Rathbone (2),
    Penalty goals: Mogg,
    Conversions: Prior (3),
39 - 17

Melbourne Rebels

  • Alo-Emile, English,
    Penalty goals: Woodward,
    Conversions: Woodward (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 7th Jun 2013
  • KO 10:40
  • Ground: Canberra Stadium

Brumbies v Rebels - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 7th June 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Kurtley Beale Gareth Delve rebels

Gareth Delve: Will skipper the Rebels

Pat McCabe Brumbies 2013

Pat McCabe: Named at inside centre for the Brumbies

Related links


Also see

The Brumbies have made five changes for Friday's Super Rugby clash against the Rebels in Canberra.

Pat McCabe returns at inside centre, while Clyde Rathbone, Leon Power, Dan Palmer and Siliva Siliva also start - with head coach Jake White rejigging his side to cover international call-ups and injury.

There are also two positional changes in the back-row, with Scott Fardy moving to the blindside and Peter Kimlin switching to No 8.

Josh Mann-Rea, Etienne Oosthuizen and Zack Holmes are added to the bench to provide cover.


The Rebels have also rung the changes for the derby - with injuries and call-ups by the Wallabies hampering their preparations.

Scott Higginbotham, Hugh Pyle and Jarrod Saffy are among those sidelined through injury, while James O'Connor and Nick Phipps are part of the Australia training squad. Shota Horie is also involved in Japan squad.

Gareth Delve, Luke Jones, Jordy Reid, Nic Stirzaker and Bryce Hegarty all come into the starting XV.

Former Wallabies scrum-half Luke Burgess, loose forward James King and hooker Pat Leafa are all poised to make their first appearances for the Rebels off the bench, while Tim Davison is included in the squad for the first time this season.

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Clyde Rathbone, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White (c), 8 Peter Kimlin, 7 Colby Faingaa, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Leon Power, 3 Dan Palmer, 2 Siliva Siliva, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 Etienne Oosthuizen, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Ian Prior, 21 Robbie Coleman, 22 Zack Holmes.

Rebels:15 Jason Woodward 14 Tom English 13 Mitch Inman 12 Rory Sidey 11 Lachlan Mitchell 10 Bryce Hegarty 9 Nic Stirzaker 8 Gareth Delve 7 Scott Fuglistaller 6 Jordy Reid 5 Luke Jones 4 Cadeyrn Neville 3 Laurie Weeks 2 Ged Robinson 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Pat Leafa 17 Paul Alo-Emile 18 James King 19 Tim Davidson 20 Luke Burgess 21 James Hilgendorf 22 Kimami Sitauti

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 27th March
Super Rugby
06:35Hurricanes vs Melbourne Rebels
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 28th March
05:30Chiefs vs Cheetahs
06:35Highlanders vs Stormers
08:40Waratahs vs Blues
15:05Sharks vs Western Force
17:10Bulls vs Crusaders
Friday 3rd April
07:35Hurricanes vs Stormers
09:40Melbourne Rebels vs Reds
Saturday 4th April
07:35Chiefs vs Blues
09:40Brumbies vs Cheetahs
14:00Sharks vs Crusaders
16:05Lions vs Bulls
Friday 10th April
08:35Blues vs Brumbies
Saturday 11th April
08:35Crusaders vs Highlanders
10:40Waratahs vs Stormers
12:45Western Force vs Cheetahs
14:00Bulls vs Reds
16:05Lions vs Sharks
Friday 17th April
08:35Crusaders vs Chiefs
Saturday 18th April
05:30Hurricanes vs Waratahs
08:35Highlanders vs Blues
10:40Brumbies vs Melbourne Rebels
12:45Western Force vs Stormers
16:05Sharks vs Bulls

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com