Home team Away Team


  • Fourie, Kolisi, Habana,
    Penalty goals: Pietersen (3),
    Conversions: Pietersen (2),
28 - 3


  • Penalty goals: Smit,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 29th Jun 2013
  • KO 18:10
  • Ground: Fedsure Park

Super Rugby preview: Stormers v Sheetahs

Last updated: 28th June 2013  

Siya Kolisi Stormers v Cheetahs SR 2013

The Cheetahs snatched a last-gasp win in the reverse fixture between the sides

Jean de Villiers Stormers Cheetahs

Jean de Villiers: The Stormers skipper is out of the Cheetahs clash

Related links




Also see

The Stormers meet the Cheetahs in Cape Town for a derby on Saturday that could play a big part in deciding which side makes the Super Rugby play-offs.

In the corresponding fixture between the South African sides the Cheetahs recorded their first win over the Stormers since 2007 and the 11th-placed outfit will be after revenge.

A win is vital for both, especially the Cheetahs who lie fifth in the overall standings. The Bloemfontein side have a number of teams breathing down their necks and will be keen to put some distance between themselves and their rivals.

The match-winner from the reverse fixture, Burton Francis, will not play any part on Saturday, however, after falling out of favour with Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske. Instead, Riaan Smit will take the no 10 jersey.

Smit's inclusion is one of two personnel changes in the starting XV with Rynhardt Landman replacing Francois Uys whilst Willie le Roux and Raymond Rhule switch wings.

Walti Evermeulen and Howard Mnisi are named amongst the replacements with Ligtoring Landman and Rayno Benjamin missing out.

For the Stormers Juan de Jongh comes in at centre for captain Jean de Villiers, with flanker Deon Fourie set to lead the side in his absence.

There are also two changes amongst the replacements as Scarra Ntubeni and Ross Geldenhuys are preferred to Martin Bezuidenhout and Chris Heiberg.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Deon Fourie (captain), 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements:16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Ross Geldenhuys, 18 Gerbrandt Grobler, 19 Don Armand, 20 Dewaldt Duvenage, 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Gerhard van den Heever

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Rynhardt Landman, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (capt), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Walti Evermeulen, 19 Johannes Prinsloo, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Elgar Watts, 22 Howard Mnisi

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com