Home team Away Team


  • Murray, Sherry, Zebo (3),
    Conversions: Keatley (2),
29 - 6

Racing Metro 92

  • Penalty goals: Germain (2),
  • European Rugby Champions Cup
  • Pool 1
  • 20th Jan 2013
  • KO 12:45
  • Ground: Thomond Park, Limerick
  • Att: 26,000

Munster v Racing Metro - Heineken Cup match preview

Last updated: 20th January 2013  

Edinburgh v Racing Metro Olly Barkley

Olly Barkley: Starts at No 10 for Racing

Ian Keatley Munster Duncan Weir Glasgow

Ian Keatley: Replaces the suspended Ronan O'Gara

Related links


Also see

Munster have made just the one change as they look to clinch a place in the Heineken Cup quarter-finals with a victory over Racing Metro.

Munster are still in the hunt for top spot - but with leaders Saracens facing winless Edinburgh and holding a three-point lead, their best chance of progression could be via one of the two runners-up places.

Racing's home loss to Saracens ended their hopes of making it into the last-eight, although they could still claim one of the three spots for the Amlin Challenge Cup should they win at Thomond Park.

Munster have named Ian Keatley at fly-half for the must-win clash as Ronan O'Gara misses out through suspension. Keatley's promotion to the starting XV means JJ Hanrahan comes onto the bench.

Racing have made whole changes to their line-up, with Dimitri Szarzewski, Fabrice Estebanez, Juan-Martin Hernandez, Juan Imhoff and Henry Chavancy among those missing.

Former Bath and England back Olly Barkley does start for them, though.

Munster: 15 Felix Jones, 14 Doug Howlett, 13 Keith Earls, 12 James Downey, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Conor Murray, 8 James Coughlan, 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 BJ Botha, 2 Damien Varley, 1 Dave Kilcoyne.
Replacements: 16 Mike Sherry, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 John Ryan, 19 Billy Holland, 20 Paddy Butler, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 23 Casey Laulala.

Racing Metro: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Julien Jane, 13 Guillaume Bousses, 12 Alexandre Dumoulin, 11 Sereli Bobo, 10 Olly Barkley, 9 Mathieu Belie, 8 Jacques Cronje, 7 Bernard Le Roux, 6 Antoine Batut, 5 Fabrice Metz, 4 Karim Ghezal, 3 Benjamin Sa, 2 Benjamin Noirot, 1 Julien Brugnaut.
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bianchin, 17 Andrea Lo Cicero, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Jone Qovu Nailiko, 20 Benjamin Fall, 21 Santiago Dellape, 22 Sebastien Descons, 23 Masi Matadigo.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com