Home team Away Team

Southern Kings

  • Watson, Venter, Du Preez, Watson,
    Penalty goals: Catrakilis (2),
    Conversions: Catrakilis (3), Catrakilis,
34 - 27


  • Treeby, Thorn, Gear, Slade,
    Penalty goals: Slade,
    Conversions: Slade, Slade,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 11th May 2013
  • KO 16:05

Southern Kings v Highlanders - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 10th May 2013  

Tino Nemani Hawkes Bay v Southland ITMC 2012

Tino Nemani: Will make his debut for the Highlanders

Luke Watson Kings v Waratahs SR 2013

Luke Watson: Back to captain the Kings

Related links





Also see

Luke Watson will return to captain the Southern Kings in Saturday's Super Rugby clash with the Highlanders.

The Kings are still smarting after their record loss to the Waratahs last time out, so it is perhaps unsurprising that changes have been made.

Watson will start on the flank with Cornell du Preez moving to No 8, while David Bulbring replaces Rynier Bernardo in the second row. The Kings will make a late decision on their front row as Kevin Buys struggling with a back injury.

With Sergeal Petersen sidelined, Marcello Sampson gets his chance on the wing

The Highlanders have made one change to their line up for the trip to Port Elizabeth.

Former Chiefs winger Tino Nemani will make his debut for the side, with Phil Burleigh missing out.

Burleigh has failed to recover from a shoulder injury and has remained back home for treatment.

Kings: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Siyanda Grey, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Luke Watson (c), 5 David Bulbring, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 AN Other, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 AN Other, 18 Daniel Adongo, 19 Devin Oosthuizen, 20 Nicolas Vergallo, 21 Shane Gates, 22 SP Marais.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 TJ Ioane, 7 John Hardie, 6 Jarrad Hoeata, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Chris King, 2 Andrew Hore (c), 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Ma'afu Fia, 18 Mose Tuiali'i, 19 Joe Wheeler, 20 Fumiaka Tanaka, 21 Hayden Parker, 22 Jason Emery.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com