Home team Away Team


34 - 34


  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 29th Mar 2014
  • KO 13:00
  • Ground: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Super Rugby: Bulls v Chiefs preview

Last updated: 28th March 2014  


Andrew Horrell: Starts at outside centre for the reigning champions

Akona Ndungane Bulls v Cheetahs SR 2014

Akona Ndungane: Returns to the side after missing the victory over the Sharks

Related links





Also see

The Bulls will be hoping to round out a perfect month when they host reigning champions the Chiefs at Loftus Versfeld Stadium, live on Sky Sports 2 HD via the red button.

Frans Ludeke's side have recorded victories over the Lions, Blues and Sharks in March, with the hat-trick of successes all coming on home soil.

Akona Ndungane missed the 23-19 result against the Sharks on compassionate leave last time out, but returns to the wing this weekend. He is the only alteration for the hosts.

Victor Matfield will once again lead the Bulls in the absence of Flip van der Merwe last weekend, and the experienced lock knows it will be a tough challenge up against the Chiefs.

"They are not the champions for nothing," he said. "They are well-balanced with a lot of strike power at the back, but also have a solid and strong first phase in their play.

"We will have to be very accurate and use our changes if we want to be victorious."

Wholesale changes

The Chiefs arrive in Pretoria off the back of an 18-15 loss to the Western Force that saw them fail to manage a try, their first reverse of the season so far.

That result has led to wholesale changes to the team, including handing a debut to Anton Lienert-Brown on the wing.

Prop Pauliasi Manu, hooker Rhys Marshall, lock Matt Symons, openside flanker Tanerau Latimer and number eight Kane Thompson have been brought into the starting line-up for the forwards.

A minor hamstring injury means Tim Nanai-Williams is only fit enough for a seat on the bench. Andrew Horrell takes his starting berth at outside centre.

Bulls: 15 Visser, 14 Ndungane, 13 Engelbrecht, 12 Serfontein, 11 Basson, 10 Potgieter, 9 Hougaard; 1 Dean Greyling, 2 Callie Visagie, 3 Werner Kruger, 4 Werner Kruger, 5 Matfield (capt), 6 Stegmann, 7 du Plessis, 8 Potgieter

Replacements: 16 Mbonambi, 17 Mellet, 18 Van der Merwe, 19 Hattingh, 20 Ross, 21 Van Zyl, 22 Pollard, 23 Beyers.

Chiefs: 15 Muliaina, 14 Lienert-Brown, 13 Horrell, 12 Marshall, 11 Tikoirotuma, 10 Cruden (capt), 9 Kerr-Barlow; 1 Manu, 2 Marshall, 3 Tameifuna, 4 Symons, 5 Retallick, 6 Messam, 7 Latimer, 8 Thompson

Replacements: 16 Schwalger, 17 Mackintosh, 18 Afeaki, 19 Fitzgerald, 20 Cane, 21 Pulu, 22 Anscombe, 23 Nanai-Williams

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 13th February
Super Rugby
06:35Crusaders vs Melbourne Rebels
08:40Brumbies vs Reds
17:10Lions vs Hurricanes
Saturday 14th February
06:35Blues vs Chiefs
15:05Sharks vs Cheetahs
17:05Bulls vs Stormers
Sunday 15th February
06:05Waratahs vs Western Force
Friday 20th February
06:35Chiefs vs Brumbies
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Waratahs
17:10Bulls vs Hurricanes
Saturday 21st February
06:35Highlanders vs Crusaders
08:40Reds vs Western Force
15:05Stormers vs Blues
17:10Sharks vs Lions
Friday 27th February
06:35Highlanders vs Reds
11:00Western Force vs Hurricanes
17:10Cheetahs vs Blues
Saturday 28th February
06:35Chiefs vs Crusaders
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Brumbies
15:05Bulls vs Sharks
17:10Lions vs Stormers
Friday 6th March
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com