Home team Away Team


13 - 29


  • ITM Cup
  • Final
  • 26th Oct 2013
  • KO 07:35
  • Ground: Westpac Stadium

ITM Cup: Canterbury beat Wellington to win sixth straight title

Last updated: 26th October 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed


Ryan Crotty: Scored one of four Canterbury tries


Canterbury celebrate winning their sixth straight ITM Cup title

Also see

Canterbury claimed their sixth successive ITM Cup title after recording a 29-13 victory over Wellington in the final at the Westpac Stadium.

The reigning champions were three points down at half-time but raced away after the interval to ultimately run out comfortable winners.

Andy Ellis, Ryan Crotty, Tyler Bleyendall and George Whitelock all scored tries for Canterbury, with Lima Sopoaga providing the only response for Canterbury.

Ellis opened the scoring before Sopoaga cut the gap with a penalty before going over for a try, which five minutes before the end of the first half.

But it was Canterbury who piled on the pressure in the second half, with the Wellington defence inevitably giving in on numerous occasions.

The result marks Wellington's fifth final defeat in the last eight years and leaves them without a title in New Zealand's premier domestic competition since 2000.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com