Home team Away Team

Leicester

  • Smith,
    Penalty goals: Ford (3),
    Conversions: Ford,
16 - 12

Northampton


  • Penalty goals: Lamb (4),

Aviva Premiership: Matt Smith try proves the difference as Leicester beat Northampton 16-12

Last updated: 3rd November 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Leicester Northampton Anthony Allen

Leicester's Anthony Allen crashes into the Northampton defence

Matt Smith of Leicester Tigers scores v Northampton Saints

Leicester's Matt Smith dives over for the game's decisive score

Related links

Teams

Also see

A Matt Smith try proved the difference as Leicester ground out a hard-fought 16-12 victory over Northampton to briefly move to the top of the Aviva Premiership table.

Smith struck at the start of the second half to push his side into a lead that they would ultimately never relinquish.

In a contest dominated by defences and rather lacking in invention or flair, the boots of respective fly-halves George Ford and Ryan Lamb played a leading role with the former kicking three penalties and a conversion and the latter four penalties.

It was Lamb who gave the visitors an early 6-0 lead as he accepted two penalty opportunities in the opening 11 minutes.

Ford was not so clinical as he fluffed his first two chances, but at the third time of asking he got Leicester back within three on 18 minutes.

It was the Tigers number 10 who had the last word of the half as he ensured his side went in on terms at the interval with a second penalty after Dom Waldouck was penalised for holding on.

The hosts then broke the defensive stalemate just over a minute into the second period as Smith touched down for the game's solitary try, the centre on the shoulder of replacement Vereniki Goneva to receive an offload after a powerful run from the Fijian.

Lamb reduced the deficit after Ford was pulled up for tackling GJ Van Velze without the ball, but three minutes later he was unable to find the target from out wide after the hosts infringed again.

Ford stretched the lead back to seven points with his third penalty after Saints hooker Mike Haywood was pinged for clattering Geordan Murphy in the air following a kick from the full-back.

But he then failed with two virtually identical penalty opportunities from wide on the left within the space of a couple of minutes and those misses looked costly when Lamb slotted his fourth to get Northampton back within striking distance with six minutes remaining.

The Saints fly-half would turn sinner though, as he was sin-binned for a rather cynical block on Anthony Allen and with him went any hopes the visitors had of avoiding defeat.

Aviva Premiership. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Northampton Fixtures
TimeFixture
Northampton
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
17:15Northampton vs Ospreys
Saturday 1st November
LV= Cup
16:00Northampton vs Newcastle
Friday 7th November
19:30Scarlets vs Northampton
Friday 14th November
Aviva Premiership
19:45Northampton vs Exeter
Sunday 23rd November
13:00Saracens vs Northampton
Sunday 30th November
14:30London Welsh vs Northampton
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Benetton Treviso vs Northampton
Saturday 13th December
TBCNorthampton vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
15:00Northampton vs Leicester
Saturday 27th December
15:00Harlequins vs Northampton
Saturday 3rd January
15:00Northampton vs Newcastle
Saturday 10th January
14:00Sale vs Northampton
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCOspreys vs Northampton
Saturday 24th January
TBCNorthampton vs Racing Metro 92
Today's Results
Result
Northampton
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Racing Metro 92 20 - 11 Northampton
Saturday 11th October
Aviva Premiership
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale Sharks
Saturday 4th October
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday 27th September
Northampton 31 - 24 Bath
Sunday 21st September
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday 14th September
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Friday 5th September
Northampton 53 - 6 Gloucester

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com