Home team Away Team

Bath

  • Abendanon,
    Penalty goals: Barkley (3),
14 - 18

Northampton


  • Penalty goals: Myler (5),
    Drop goals: May,
  • Aviva Premiership
  • 14th Sep 2012
  • KO 19:45
  • Ground: The Recreation Ground
  • Att: 10,462

Myler's boot nails Bath

Saints' No 10 inspires visitors to slender victory at Rec

Last updated: 14th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Ben Foden Injured Bath

Ben Foden: The England scrum-half suffered an ankle injury

Stephen Myler Bath

Stephen Myler: Kicked five penalties in Northampton win

Related links

Teams

Players

Also see

Stephen Myler kicked five penalties as Northampton overcame resurgent Bath 18-14 at the Recreation Ground.

But their second away win of the campaign and their third of the season was achieved at the cost of a nasty looking ankle injury to England's Ben Foden in the second half.

The home side got off to the perfect start as Nick Abendanon raced onto Tom Biggs cute chip-kick to touch down after just 70 seconds on the clock.

But then the west country outfit gave away a series of cheap penalties - and Myler made sure they were duly punished with four kicks to give the visitors an 12-8 half-time lead.

Bath were again reliant on the goal-kicking of Olly Barkley, who landed three penalties, bringing the hosts to within a point of their opponents at 14-15 in the second half and the packed Rec crowd suddenly sensed an unlikely victory.

The loss of Foden with an ankle injury appeared to have taken much of the sting out of the visitors' attack but Barkley missed a chance to regain the lead, the ball dipping under the bar from nearly halfway.

Saints' No 10 Myler then kicked his fifth penalty and his replacement, Tom May, wrapped things up with a drop goal four minutes from time leaving Bath little time to find a try to sneak victory.

Saints, though, managed to hold on and the home side had to be content with a losing bonus point.

Aviva Premiership. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Northampton Fixtures
TimeFixture
Northampton
Friday 27th February
Aviva Premiership
19:45Northampton vs Harlequins
Saturday 7th March
15:15Gloucester vs Northampton
Saturday 14th March
LV= Cup
12:30Saracens vs Northampton
Friday 27th March
Aviva Premiership
19:45Northampton vs Wasps
Saturday 4th April
European Rugby Champions Cup
17:40Clermont Auvergne vs Northampton
Sunday 12th April
Aviva Premiership
14:00Exeter vs Northampton
Saturday 25th April
15:00Northampton vs Saracens
Saturday 9th May
15:00Northampton vs London Welsh
Saturday 16th May
15:30Leicester vs Northampton
Today's Results
Result
Northampton
Saturday 21st February
Aviva Premiership
Bath 13 - 21 Northampton
Friday 13th February
Northampton 15 - 9 London Irish
Saturday 7th February
LV= Cup
Northampton 29 - 6 Wasps
Saturday 31st January
Leicester 17 - 8 Northampton
Saturday 24th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
Northampton 8 - 32 Racing Metro 92
Sunday 18th January
Ospreys 9 - 20 Northampton
Saturday 10th January
Aviva Premiership
Sale Sharks 20 - 7 Northampton

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com