Home team Away Team

Bath

  • Abendanon,
    Penalty goals: Barkley (3),
14 - 18

Northampton


  • Penalty goals: Myler (5),
    Drop goals: May,

Myler's boot nails Bath

Saints' No 10 inspires visitors to slender victory at Rec

Last updated: 14th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Ben Foden Injured Bath

Ben Foden: The England scrum-half suffered an ankle injury

Stephen Myler Bath

Stephen Myler: Kicked five penalties in Northampton win

Related links

Teams

Players

Also see

Stephen Myler kicked five penalties as Northampton overcame resurgent Bath 18-14 at the Recreation Ground.

But their second away win of the campaign and their third of the season was achieved at the cost of a nasty looking ankle injury to England's Ben Foden in the second half.

The home side got off to the perfect start as Nick Abendanon raced onto Tom Biggs cute chip-kick to touch down after just 70 seconds on the clock.

But then the west country outfit gave away a series of cheap penalties - and Myler made sure they were duly punished with four kicks to give the visitors an 12-8 half-time lead.

Bath were again reliant on the goal-kicking of Olly Barkley, who landed three penalties, bringing the hosts to within a point of their opponents at 14-15 in the second half and the packed Rec crowd suddenly sensed an unlikely victory.

The loss of Foden with an ankle injury appeared to have taken much of the sting out of the visitors' attack but Barkley missed a chance to regain the lead, the ball dipping under the bar from nearly halfway.

Saints' No 10 Myler then kicked his fifth penalty and his replacement, Tom May, wrapped things up with a drop goal four minutes from time leaving Bath little time to find a try to sneak victory.

Saints, though, managed to hold on and the home side had to be content with a losing bonus point.

Aviva Premiership. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Northampton Fixtures
TimeFixture
Northampton
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
17:15Northampton vs Ospreys
Saturday 1st November
LV= Cup
16:00Northampton vs Newcastle
Friday 7th November
19:30Scarlets vs Northampton
Friday 14th November
Aviva Premiership
19:45Northampton vs Exeter
Sunday 23rd November
13:00Saracens vs Northampton
Sunday 30th November
14:30London Welsh vs Northampton
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Benetton Treviso vs Northampton
Saturday 13th December
TBCNorthampton vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
15:00Northampton vs Leicester
Saturday 27th December
15:00Harlequins vs Northampton
Saturday 3rd January
15:00Northampton vs Newcastle
Saturday 10th January
14:00Sale vs Northampton
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCOspreys vs Northampton
Saturday 24th January
TBCNorthampton vs Racing Metro 92
Today's Results
Result
Northampton
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Racing Metro 92 20 - 11 Northampton
Saturday 11th October
Aviva Premiership
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale Sharks
Saturday 4th October
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday 27th September
Northampton 31 - 24 Bath
Sunday 21st September
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday 14th September
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Friday 5th September
Northampton 53 - 6 Gloucester

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com