Home team Away Team

Harlequins

  • Care,
    Penalty goals: Botica (6),
    Conversions: Botica,
25 - 21

Leicester

  • Flood, Thompstone,
    Penalty goals: Flood (3),
    Conversions: Flood,

Aviva Premiership report - Harlequins record first home win over Leicester since 2003

By Joe Drabble - Twitter: @SkySportsDrabs   Last updated: 17th February 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Toby Flood scores try for Leicester Tigers v Harlequins

Toby Flood races clear for an early Leicester try

Danny Care scores for Harlequins v Leicester Stoop

Danny Care: Touched down for Harlequins in the second half

Related links

Teams

Also see

Harlequins reclaimed top spot in the Aviva Premiership after coming from behind to defeat title rivals Leicester Tigers 25-21 at the Twickenham Stoop on Saturday night.

Stand-in fly-half Ben Botica booted 20 points for Quins, kicking all seven attempts at goal after stepping in as a last-minute replacement for Nick Evans, who failed a late fitness test.

Botica's precision with the boot proved the difference between the sides but Danny Care's virtuoso solo try was the catalyst for the hosts, who trailed 18-12 at half-time.

Care's converted 50th minute try edged Quins ahead for the first time and despite late pressure from Tigers, they held on for a vital win.

The Londoners were forced to win the hard way after Toby Flood had scored one try and created another for Adam Thompstone during a dominant first half display.

The Leicester No.10, who has played second fiddle to Owen Farrell during England's ongoing RBS Six Nations campaign, put the visitors in front on seven minutes after intercepting Nick Easter's floated pass and sprinting 75 metres to score.

Flood then turned provider later in the half, producing an inch-perfect grubber kick two minutes before the break, which Thompstone touched down in the corner.

Three penalties completed a fine evening's work from Flood, however it was his opposite number Botica who kept Quins in touch throughout the match.

The New Zealand-born fly-half kicked four first half penalties and converted Care's classy score to edge the hosts ahead for the first time.

Care reacted quickly after a penalty award on the halfway line, taking a quick tap-kick before jinking past Leicester full-back Mathew Tait to crash down.

The win sees Quins leapfrog Leicester and Saracens into top spot and end a 10-year wait for home victory over the Tigers.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Harlequins Fixtures
TimeFixture
Harlequins
Sunday 2nd November
LV= Cup
13:00Saracens vs Harlequins
Friday 7th November
19:45Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons
Friday 14th November
Aviva Premiership
19:45Gloucester vs Harlequins
Friday 21st November
19:45Harlequins vs Sale
Friday 28th November
19:45Bath vs Harlequins
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCHarlequins vs Leinster
Saturday 13th December
TBCLeinster vs Harlequins
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
15:00Harlequins vs Newcastle
Saturday 27th December
15:00Harlequins vs Northampton
Sunday 4th January
14:30London Welsh vs Harlequins
Saturday 10th January
15:00Harlequins vs Leicester
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCHarlequins vs Wasps
Saturday 24th January
TBCCastres vs Harlequins
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00Harlequins vs Bath
Saturday 7th February
15:00Gloucester vs Harlequins
Today's Results
Result
Harlequins
Sunday 26th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Wasps 16 - 23 Harlequins
Friday 17th October
Harlequins 25 - 9 Castres
Friday 10th October
Aviva Premiership
Leicester 22 - 16 Harlequins
Saturday 4th October
Harlequins 52 - 0 London Welsh
Sunday 28th September
Exeter 36 - 13 Harlequins
Saturday 20th September
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Friday 12th September
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com