Home team Away Team

London Irish

  • Paice, Ojo, Gibson, Joseph,
    Penalty goals: Shingler (4),
    Drop goals: Humphreys,
    Conversions: Shingler (2),
39 - 17

Northampton

  • Dowson, Pisi,
    Penalty goals: Myler,
    Conversions: Myler (2),
  • Aviva Premiership
  • 6th Oct 2012
  • KO 15:00
  • Ground: Madejski Stadium
  • Att: 7,918

London Irish end Northampton's unbeaten start to the Aviva Premiership season

Last updated: 6th October 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

ken pisi northampton v london irish

Ken Pisi crossed for a consolation try for Northampton

jonathan joseph london irish v northampton

Jonathan Joseph: Provided the spark as Irish routed the league leaders

Related links

Teams

Also see

Jonathan Joseph inspired the biggest upset of the season as London Irish smashed Northampton's unbeaten record with a 39-17 win at the Madejski Stadium.

The England centre scored the Exiles opening try and played a key role in scores from David Paice and Topsy Ojo before Jamie Gibson crossed for the bonus point.

The Saints trailed 33-3 before Ken Pisi and Phil Dowson crossed to make the score respectable but Brian Smith's side were long gone.

A point-less first 24 minutes came to an end when Joseph's grubber kick was moved on by Marlande Yarde before Joseph followed up to score his second try of the campaign.

Irish were unrelenting thereafter, prop Halani Aulika held up short before Steven Shingler extended the lead from the tee.

Joseph hit the line at speed on the Saints' 22 and two phases later Paice was over for the second while an Ian Humphreys 40m drop-goal handed the hosts an 18-0 half-time lead.

Northampton came out strongly after the break but Noah Cato could not find a way through and they were soon hit by a third Irish try - Ojo finishing off after Joseph created an opening from clean lineout ball.

Shingler added another penalty and although Bryn Evans narrowly missed out on a fourth try Irish did not have to wait long before Ofisa Treviranus held off two tacklers to supply Gibson with the bonus score.

Northampton kept plugging away and worked a try for Pisi in the right corner before captain Dowson burrowed his way over.

But Shingler added two further penalties to round off the hosts' best performance of the season and secure a memorable win.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming London Irish Fixtures
TimeFixture
London Irish
Saturday 3rd January
Aviva Premiership
14:00Saracens vs London Irish
Sunday 11th January
15:00London Irish vs Exeter
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCLondon Irish vs Grenoble
Saturday 24th January
TBCRovigo vs London Irish
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00Scarlets vs London Irish
Saturday 7th February
15:00London Irish vs Newcastle
Saturday 14th February
Aviva Premiership
15:00Northampton vs London Irish
Saturday 21st February
15:00London Irish vs Leicester
Saturday 28th February
14:30London Welsh vs London Irish
Saturday 7th March
15:00Harlequins vs London Irish
Saturday 28th March
15:00London Irish vs Newcastle
Today's Results
Result
London Irish
Friday 26th December
Aviva Premiership
London Irish 24 - 9 London Welsh
Sunday 21st December
Wasps 48 - 16 London Irish
Saturday 13th December
European Rugby Challenge Cup
London Irish 34 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Saturday 6th December
Cardiff Blues 24 - 14 London Irish
Sunday 30th November
Aviva Premiership
London Irish 9 - 21 Gloucester
Saturday 22nd November
London Irish 23 - 33 Bath
Saturday 15th November
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London Irish
Sunday 9th November
LV= Cup
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com