Home team Away Team

London Irish

  • Geraghty, Yarde,
    Penalty goals: Homer (6),
    Conversions: Homer,
30 - 19

Wasps

  • Wade ,
    Penalty goals: Jones (4),
    Conversions: Jones,
  • Aviva Premiership
  • 24th Feb 2013
  • KO 12:05
  • Ground: Madejski Stadium
  • Att: 7,184

Aviva Premiership: Strong second half sees London Irish beat Wasps

Last updated: 24th February 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

James Cannon tackled Wasps Aviva Premiership

Wasps lock James Cannon is tackled

Chris Hala ufia London irish Aviva Premiership

Chris Hala'ufia: Breaks through a pair of tacklers

Related links

Teams

Also see

London Irish climbed to 10th place in the Aviva Premiership table after claiming an impressive 30-19 win over Wasps at the Madejski Stadium.

Shane Geraghty and Marland Yarde both crossed the try-line, while Tom Homer added a total of 20 points from the kicking tee.

Wasps led 16-14 at half-time after a fine finish from Christian Wade but the hosts stepped things up a gear in the second half and were comfortable winners in the end.

Irish are now five points clear of bottom club Sale, who they face along with fellow strugglers London Welsh and Worcester in their three remaining home fixtures.

Homer struck his first penalty against the post but minutes later the full-back was given an easier opportunity and this time made no mistake.

Irish continued to be the livelier side and went close through Halani Aulika and Yarde, the former held up over the line and the latter forced into touch by Wade as he attempted to score.

Homer extended the Irish lead after 13 minutes with a simple penalty before Stephen Jones grabbed three points of his own.

Some quick thinking then allowed the hosts to score the opening try as Ian Humphreys took a quick tap penalty, with the ball then being spread out to Geraghty for the score.

But Wasps steadily grew in confidence and reduced the deficit to 11-9 with two more Jones penalties before Wade evaded two tackles to squeeze in at the corner for a converted try.

Just before half-time Homer kicked his third penalty but Irish still trailed, and the home side suffered a double blow soon after the restart when Chris Hala'ufia was sin-binned for a dangerous challenge and Jones kicked the resulting penalty.

But Irish made light of the one-man disadvantage as Homer slotted over his fourth penalty before Hala'ufia made a powerful run on his return to feed Ofisa Treviranus, who slipped in Yarde for a try.

Homer converted and then kicked another penalty to give the hosts a 27-19 lead going into the closing stages, and the full-back made the points completely safe with another three-pointer late on.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming London Irish Fixtures
TimeFixture
London Irish
Sunday 30th November
Aviva Premiership
13:00London Irish vs Gloucester
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Challenge Cup
15:15Cardiff Blues vs London Irish
Saturday 13th December
15:00London Irish vs Cardiff Blues
Sunday 21st December
Aviva Premiership
14:00Wasps vs London Irish
Friday 26th December
15:00London Irish vs London Welsh
Saturday 3rd January
15:00Saracens vs London Irish
Sunday 11th January
15:00London Irish vs Exeter
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCLondon Irish vs Grenoble
Saturday 24th January
TBCRovigo vs London Irish
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00Scarlets vs London Irish
Saturday 7th February
15:00London Irish vs Newcastle
Saturday 14th February
Aviva Premiership
15:00Northampton vs London Irish
Saturday 21st February
15:00London Irish vs Leicester
Saturday 28th February
14:30London Welsh vs London Irish
Saturday 7th March
15:00Harlequins vs London Irish
Today's Results
Result
London Irish
Saturday 22nd November
Aviva Premiership
London Irish 23 - 33 Bath
Saturday 15th November
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London Irish
Sunday 9th November
LV= Cup
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish
Saturday 1st November
London Irish 16 - 17 Leicester
Friday 24th October
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Grenoble 15 - 25 London Irish
Sunday 19th October
London Irish 70 - 14 Rovigo
Saturday 11th October
Aviva Premiership
Exeter 44 - 24 London Irish

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com