Home team Away Team

Gloucester

  • Simpson-Daniel, Kalamafoni,
    Penalty goals: Burns (5),
    Conversions: Burns (2),
29 - 22

Wasps

  • Daly,
    Penalty goals: Jones (3), Robinson, Bell,
    Conversions: Jones,

Gloucester battle past Wasps

Tries from Simpson-Daniel and Kalamafoni lift Gloucester

Last updated: 22nd September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Mike Tindall Gloucester v Wasps

Gloucester secured their first home win in Premiership action since February

James Simpson-Daniel

Simpson-Daniel: Scored Gloucester's opening try against Wasps

Related links

Teams

Also see

Gloucester recorded their first Aviva Premiership home win since February courtesy of a 29-22 success over Wasps at Kingsholm.

Fly-half Freddie Burns booted 19 points, including conversions of both Gloucester tries by wing James Simpson-Daniel and flanker Sione Kalamafoni.

Wasps left the west country with a losing bonus point after centre Eliot Daly's quality try, 11 points for fly-half Stephen Jones and penalties by full-back Tommy Bell and substitute Nicky Robinson.

Gloucester started the game at a rapid tempo, sparked by scrum-half Dan Robson's break that was taken on by his forwards and ended with Burns diving over Wasps' line.

But the video referee ruled in Wasps' favour, which helped to settle them down and resulted in a sharp riposte which ended with Jones slotting an eighth-minute penalty.

Burns quickly drew Gloucester level, though, and then after he landed a long-range penalty the home side extended their advantage in vintage Simpson-Daniel fashion.

30-metre run

The former England wing was freed wide out before he left four Wasps defenders clutching thin air during an angled 30-metre run for the 63rd Premiership try of his career.

Burns converted and matters deteriorated for Wasps just five minutes later when an unmarked Kalamafoni pinched possession at the back of a ruck and stormed over for a try, despite Joe Simpson's spirited defensive work.

Burns again added the extras but, with Gloucester still patting themselves on the back, Wasps struck from Jones' restart through an opportunist Daly touchdown that Jones converted.

Bell further narrowed the gap deep into first-half injury time when he booted a penalty from five metres inside his own half.

Gloucester old boy Robinson arrived off the replacements' bench for Darren Dawidiuk to kick Wasps within losing bonus-point range, which prompted a nervous closing few minutes for the home team, but committed defence kept Wasps at bay.

It was frantic at times for Gloucester and they were helped by Wasps' lack of attacking composure but there was no way through for the visitors, who lacked try-scoring ideas at crucial times.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Wasps Fixtures
TimeFixture
Wasps
Sunday 26th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
17:15Wasps vs Harlequins
Saturday 1st November
LV= Cup
15:00Sale vs Wasps
Saturday 8th November
15:00Wasps vs London Irish
Sunday 16th November
Aviva Premiership
15:15Wasps vs London Welsh
Saturday 22nd November
15:00Exeter vs Wasps
Saturday 29th November
15:00Leicester vs Wasps
Sunday 7th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Castres vs Wasps
Sunday 14th December
13:00Wasps vs Castres
Sunday 21st December
Aviva Premiership
14:00Wasps vs London Irish
Saturday 27th December
15:00Gloucester vs Wasps
Sunday 4th January
14:00Wasps vs Sale
Saturday 10th January
15:00Bath vs Wasps
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCHarlequins vs Wasps
Saturday 24th January
TBCWasps vs Leinster
Today's Results
Result
Wasps
Sunday 19th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
Sunday 12th October
Aviva Premiership
Wasps 29 - 22 Bath
Sunday 5th October
Sale 25 - 14 Wasps
Sunday 28th September
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Saturday 20th September
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Sunday 14th September
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Saturday 6th September
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com