Home team Away Team

Exeter

  • Thomas, Dolman, Whitehead ,
    Penalty goals: Steenson (3),
    Conversions: Steenson (3),
30 - 23

Wasps

  • Varndell, Daly,
    Penalty goals: Thomas (2), Bell,
    Conversions: Thomas (2),

Aviva Premiership: Exeter Chiefs beat Wasps at their Sandy fortress

Last updated: 1st December 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Phil Dollman R of Exeter Chiefs

Phil Dollman gets over in the corner

Jason Shoemark exeter chiefs

Jason Shoemark on the charge for Exeter

Related links

Teams

Also see

Exeter remain unbeaten at Sandy Park this season and are up to fifth place in the Aviva Premiership after a 30-23 victory over London Wasps.

Gareth Steenson and Luke Thomas exchanged early penalties before Steenson knocked over a 45-metre effort to edge the Chiefs ahead again.

The visitors continued to look dangerous as fly-half Nick Robinson put a grubber kick through but Tom Varndell was unable to collect. But the pressure continued as centre Elliot Daly burst through to squeeze in at the corner.

Thomas added the extras and then added his second penalty from 22 metres as the Chiefs strayed offside as they defended their line.

The home side then mounted an attack from inside their own 22 through Steenson, who raced away with centre Phil Dollman up in support to take on the charge - but was stopped 10 metres short. London Wasps scrum-half Joe Simpson was yellow carded for a professional foul at the tackle.

Exeter took advantage of the extra man and the scrum drove over the line with hooker Chris Whitehead getting the touchdown and Steenson added the extras to again draw the scores level.

Christian Wade put Varndell clear with a clear forward pass but with no TMO the try was awarded, to the disgust of the Sandy Park crowd and Thomas again converted.

Varndell was then forced to take the ball back over his own line as Arscott was chasing a kick ahead from centre Jason Shoemark. At the scrum Haydn Thomas picked up at the base and the scrum half went over under the sticks with Steenson converting.

With the scores level at 20-20 at the break, the Chiefs started the second period strongly but missed a chance to take the lead when Steenson's penalty from out on the right hit the far upright.

Wing Jack Nowell broke and then chipped ahead but was taken out by Daly and referee Andrew Small showed the outside centre a yellow card, Steenson's penalty putting the Chiefs back in front.

Still with the extra man the Chiefs kept battering the Wasps line, working the ball into the middle where Arscott perfectly kicked ahead for Phil Dollman to dive in at the corner. Steenson converted from the touchline before Wasps secured a losing bonus point with Bell's late penalty.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Wasps Fixtures
TimeFixture
Wasps
Sunday 26th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
17:15Wasps vs Harlequins
Saturday 1st November
LV= Cup
14:00Sale Sharks vs Wasps
Sunday 9th November
14:00Wasps vs London Irish
Sunday 16th November
Aviva Premiership
15:15Wasps vs London Welsh
Saturday 22nd November
15:00Exeter vs Wasps
Saturday 29th November
15:00Leicester vs Wasps
Sunday 7th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Castres vs Wasps
Sunday 14th December
13:00Wasps vs Castres
Sunday 21st December
Aviva Premiership
14:00Wasps vs London Irish
Saturday 27th December
15:00Gloucester vs Wasps
Sunday 4th January
14:00Wasps vs Sale
Saturday 10th January
15:00Bath vs Wasps
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCHarlequins vs Wasps
Saturday 24th January
TBCWasps vs Leinster
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00Wasps vs Cardiff Blues
Today's Results
Result
Wasps
Sunday 19th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
Sunday 12th October
Aviva Premiership
Wasps 29 - 22 Bath
Sunday 5th October
Sale 25 - 14 Wasps
Sunday 28th September
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Saturday 20th September
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Sunday 14th September
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Saturday 6th September
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com