Home team Away Team

Saracens

  • Hargreaves,
    Penalty goals: Hodgson (7), Mordt,
29 - 24

Wasps

  • Varndell, Davies,
    Penalty goals: Robinson (3),
    Drop goals: Robinson,
    Conversions: Bell,

Aviva Premiership: Charlie Hodgson stars as Saracens beat Wasps

Last updated: 4th November 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Tom Varndell Wasps Aviva Premiership

Tom Varndell: Gave Wasps a fine start with an early try

Charlie Hodgson Saracens Aviva Premiership

Charlie Hodgson: Kicked a total of 21 points in win against Wasps

Related links

Teams

Also see

Charlie Hodgson kicked seven penalties as Saracens went level on points with Harlequins at the top of the Aviva Premiership with a 29-24 victory over Wasps.

The visitors got the first try on the board at Vicarage Road as Tom Varndell rounded off a superb counter-attack which was started by his fellow wing Christian Wade.

Saracens lock Alistair Hargreaves levelled the try count up in the 28th minute, but it was the kicking of fly-half Hodgson which would ultimately prove to be the difference between the two local rivals.

The 31-year-old kicked a total of 21 points while his opposite number Nicky Robinson notched three penalties and a drop goal for Wasps and Charlie Davies grabbed a losing bonus point with a try late on.

Hodgson got the first points on the board after just four minutes but Wasps responded immediately as Wade found full-back Hugo Southwell, whose well-timed pass provided Varndell space to score his seventh try of the season.

A cool drop goal from Robinson extended the lead but two penalties in the following three minutes from Hodgson edged the hosts 9-8 in front.

Hargreaves then grabbed Sarries' sole try as he charged down a kick and then won the race to ground the ball. The South African would later be sin-binned before being carried off on a stretcher following a controversial challenge by James Haskell.

Two more penalties from Robinson reduced the gap to 17-14 at half-time but Nils Mordt restored the cushion soon after the restart, taking on kicking duties with Hodgson receiving treatment for a cut.

Robinson responded in kind before Hodgson put clear daylight between the two sides with four straight penalties, with Wasps only being able to hit back in the dying moments through Davies.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Wasps Fixtures
TimeFixture
Wasps
Sunday 5th October
Aviva Premiership
14:00Sale vs Wasps
Sunday 12th October
14:00Wasps vs Bath
Sunday 19th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
17:15Leinster vs Wasps
Sunday 26th October
17:15Wasps vs Harlequins
Saturday 1st November
LV= Cup
15:00Sale vs Wasps
Saturday 8th November
15:00Wasps vs London Irish
Sunday 16th November
Aviva Premiership
15:15Wasps vs London Welsh
Saturday 22nd November
15:00Exeter vs Wasps
Saturday 29th November
15:00Leicester vs Wasps
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCCastres vs Wasps
Saturday 13th December
TBCWasps vs Castres
Sunday 21st December
Aviva Premiership
14:00Wasps vs London Irish
Saturday 27th December
15:00Gloucester vs Wasps
Sunday 4th January
14:00Wasps vs Sale
Today's Results
Result
Wasps
Sunday 28th September
Aviva Premiership
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Saturday 20th September
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Sunday 14th September
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Saturday 6th September
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com