Home team Away Team

London Welsh

  • Arscott, Tonga'uiha,
    Penalty goals: Ross,
13 - 38

Leicester

  • Parling, Waldrom (2), Salvi, Goneva,
    Penalty goals: Flood,
    Conversions: Flood (5),

Tigers see off debutants

Leicester overpower Premiership newboys

Last updated: 2nd September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Hudson Tonga Uhia London Welsh v Leicester Tigers

Hudson Tonga Uhia: Bagged Welsh's second try of the game at Kassam Stadium

Thomas Waldrom London Welsh v Leicester Tigers

Thomas Waldrom: Scored two tries for Leicester against London Welsh

Related links

Teams

Also see

London Welsh showed touches of quality and truck loads spirit on their Aviva Premiership debut but were ultimately overpowered by Leicester Tigers 38-13 at Kassam Stadium.

A famous upset appeared an outside possibility as the Exiles roared back into contention with tries from Tom Arscott and Hudson Tonga'uiha after England No 8 Thomas Waldrom had touched down twice in the opening 23 minutes.

But the Premiership giants crushed the rebellion with three second-half tries for a bonus-point start to their campaign.

The Tigers opened up a 17-0 lead after Waldrom finished a flowing move with a charge for the corner and then "the tank" touched down after a powerful driving maul from Tigers pack.

Hit back

Welsh hit back with Arscott bursting into the line from full-back and scrambling his way to the score before centre Tonga'uiha broke through a couple of tackles and won the race to the corner.

Welsh's hopes of a famous second-half comeback were dented when England lock Geoff Parling touched down in the opening minute of the second half with Toby Flood landing his third conversion of the day.

Flood then created the bonus-point fourth try for Tigers, first throwing a wide pass for Scott Hamilton to gain ground on the wing and then jinking to within 10 metres for the line from where Julian Salvi crashed over.

With 20 minutes remaining Leicester extended their lead with Hamilton skilfully feeding Vereniki Goneva on the touchline and the Fijian flew in at the corner.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Leicester Tigers Fixtures
TimeFixture
Leicester Tigers
Saturday 1st November
LV= Cup
15:00London Irish vs Leicester
Sunday 9th November
15:15Leicester vs Sale
Sunday 16th November
Aviva Premiership
13:00Leicester vs Saracens
Sunday 23rd November
15:15London Welsh vs Leicester
Saturday 29th November
15:00Leicester vs Wasps
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCLeicester vs Toulon
Saturday 13th December
TBCToulon vs Leicester
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
15:00Northampton vs Leicester
Saturday 27th December
14:00Sale vs Leicester
Saturday 3rd January
15:00Leicester vs Bath
Saturday 10th January
15:00Harlequins vs Leicester
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCLeicester vs Scarlets
Saturday 24th January
TBCUlster vs Leicester
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00Leicester vs Northampton
Today's Results
Result
Leicester Tigers
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Scarlets 15 - 3 Leicester
Saturday 18th October
Leicester 25 - 18 Ulster
Friday 10th October
Aviva Premiership
Leicester 22 - 16 Harlequins
Saturday 4th October
Gloucester 33 - 16 Leicester
Saturday 27th September
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday 20th September
Bath 45 - 0 Leicester
Saturday 13th September
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Saturday 6th September
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com