Home team Away Team

Cheetahs

  • Ebersohn (2),
    Penalty goals: Goosen (3), Ebersohn,
    Conversions: Goosen (2),
26 - 5

Lions

  • Grobbelaar,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 7th Apr 2012
  • KO 14:00

Cheetahs outpace Lions

Derby clash settled in opening 40 minutes

Last updated: 7th April 2012  

Cheetahs wing Willie le Roux brought down

Willie Le Roux: his break set up the second try

Robert Ebersohn

Robert Ebersohn: Two tries for the Cheetahs

Related links

Teams

Also see

Two tries from Robert Ebersohn helped the Cheetahs to a comfortable 26-5 success over the Lions in Bloemfontein.

The hosts were never in trouble and led 23-0 at the break, with Cobus Grobelaar's try for the Lions very much a consolation.

Johan Goosen got the scoreboard going with a 20th-minute penalty, just after he had narrowly failed to land a monster 66-metre effort.

With the Cheetahs dominating the lineout, the Lions' share of possession soon dried up, although rookie flanker Paul Willemse did his best to disrupt things.

The Cheetahs attacked well through Ebersohn, though, and it was no surprise when he opened the scoring. He danced his way through the line after WP Nel collected a poor kick from Jaco Taute.

The discipline of the Lions slumped after that and the Ebersohn grabbed his second five-pointer after Willie Le Roux broke through.

Sensing a need to make something happen, the Lions were unable to make the most of a spell of pressure close to their opponents' line and, when Goosen punted another penalty before the break, it was essentially game over at 23-0.

The same thing happened in the second half, with the Lions camping out in Cheetah territory for a good five minutes, only to come away empty handed.

They would cross the stripe eventually, though, with flanker Grobbelaar cashing in on a fine break from Michael Bondesio.

But there would be no comeback, with Sias Ebersohn kicking a victory-sealing penalty after replacing Goosen.

World Cup. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Lions Fixtures
TimeFixture
Lions
Saturday 28th February
Super Rugby
17:10Lions vs Stormers
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
Saturday 14th March
03:30Crusaders vs Lions
Friday 20th March
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Lions
Friday 27th March
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 4th April
16:05Lions vs Bulls
Saturday 11th April
16:05Lions vs Sharks
Saturday 25th April
16:05Lions vs Cheetahs
Saturday 2nd May
18:10Bulls vs Lions
Saturday 9th May
14:00Lions vs Highlanders
Saturday 16th May
16:05Lions vs Brumbies
Saturday 23rd May
16:05Cheetahs vs Lions
Saturday 30th May
18:10Lions vs Waratahs
Saturday 6th June
16:05Stormers vs Lions
Today's Results
Result
Lions
Saturday 21st February
Super Rugby
Sharks 29 - 12 Lions
Friday 13th February
Lions 8 - 22 Hurricanes

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com