Home team Away Team

Brumbies


  • Penalty goals: Holmes (4),
12 - 13

Reds

  • Morahan,
    Penalty goals: Harris (2),
    Conversions: Harris,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 26th May 2012
  • KO 10:40
  • Ground: Canberra Stadium

Sigh of relief for Reds

Defending champions edge out Brumbies

Last updated: 26th May 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Zack Holmes Brumbies v Canes 2012

Zack Homes: failed with late penalty attempt

Luke Morahan Queensland Reds v ACT Brumbies Super Rugby Canberra Stadium

Luke Morahan: crossed for game's only try early on

Related links

Teams

Also see

Zack Holmes missed a penalty kick seconds before the final whistle to hand the Queensland Reds a 13-12 win over the ACT Brumbies.

Holmes' miss brought a dramatic end to what had been a largely uninspiring clash between the Australian Conference rivals.

The ugly win kept the Reds' title defence alive, leaving them five points behind the Brumbies and within striking distance of a top-six play-off berth.

Reds full-back Luke Morahan scored the only try of the match in the fourth minute with a piece of individual brilliance, but that kind of flair was missing from much of the remaining play.

The game descended into an unsightly spectacle with both teams conceding uneccessary penalties and rarely making it into the opposing 22.

The Reds had a 10-6 lead at halftime but Holmes slotted two penalty goals to keep them in touch and had a chance to win it when Saia Faingaa infringed.

However his shot from about 40 metres out on a slight angle sailed left of the posts to elicit a collective groan from the stands.

Super 15. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Reds Fixtures
TimeFixture
Reds
Saturday 7th March
Super Rugby
08:40Reds vs Waratahs
Saturday 14th March
08:40Reds vs Brumbies
Friday 27th March
09:00Reds vs Lions
Friday 3rd April
09:40Melbourne Rebels vs Reds
Saturday 11th April
14:00Bulls vs Reds
Saturday 18th April
18:10Cheetahs vs Reds
Sunday 26th April
07:05Reds vs Hurricanes
Friday 8th May
08:35Crusaders vs Reds
Friday 15th May
10:40Reds vs Melbourne Rebels
Friday 22nd May
10:40Reds vs Sharks
Saturday 30th May
10:40Western Force vs Reds
Saturday 6th June
10:40Reds vs Chiefs
Today's Results
Result
Reds
Friday 27th February
Super Rugby
Highlanders 20 - 13 Reds
Saturday 21st February
Reds 18 - 6 Western Force
Friday 13th February
Brumbies 47 - 3 Reds

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com