Home team Away Team

Harlequins

  • Care,
    Penalty goals: Evans (3),
    Conversions: Evans,
16 - 18

Saracens


  • Penalty goals: Farrell (6),

Saracens beat defending champions Harlequins 18-16 at the Stoop, the hosts' fly-half Nick Evans having a nightmare afternoon, missing five penalties

Last updated: 30th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Owen Farrell lining one up for Saracens

Owen Farrell: Went six-for-six as Sarries took the win

 care

Danny Care: Scored the only try of the game against Saracens

Related links

Teams

Players

Also see

A nightmare afternoon for Nick Evans helped Saracens on their way to an 18-16 victory over Harlequins at the Stoop.

It was a first defeat of the season for the defending champions, for whom their normally reliable fly-half Evans missed four penalties.

Scrum-half Danny Care scored the only try of the game but Evans' misses proved critical as Quins missed the chance to return to the top of the Aviva Premiership.

The first half hour was a battle of the boot between Evans and Owen Farrell - controversially picked ahead of in-form Charlie Hodgson at fly-half for Sarries.

Evans landed the first successful kick but then missed another and by 32 minutes Farrell had put his team 9-6 up.

Then - with Quins lock Ollie Kohn in the sin-bin - came a moment of pure magic from Care who dummied the defence, spied a gap and sidestepped over the line.

Evans converted to make it 13-9 at half-time, but two Farrell penalties - either side of another miss from Evans - made it 15-13 to the visitors.

Evans missed another from the tee - his third unsuccessful effort - but Saracens then lost George Kruis to the sin-bin and the Kiwi knocked over the resultant penalty - 16-15.

Evans had the chance to extend the lead on 72 but made a hash of a straightforward three-pointer, and Sarries went straight up the other end and earned a shot at goal themselves - and Farrell, who kicked six out of six for his team, was again equal to the task.

Heineken Cup. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Saracens Fixtures
TimeFixture
Saracens
Saturday 27th September
Aviva Premiership
15:00Saracens vs Sale
Friday 3rd October
19:45Bath vs Saracens
Saturday 11th October
15:00Saracens vs Gloucester
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
15:15Saracens vs Clermont Auvergne
Friday 24th October
19:45Munster vs Saracens
Sunday 2nd November
LV= Cup
13:00Saracens vs Harlequins
Saturday 8th November
15:00Ospreys vs Saracens
Saturday 15th November
Aviva Premiership
15:00Leicester vs Saracens
Saturday 22nd November
15:00Saracens vs Northampton
Saturday 29th November
16:30Exeter vs Saracens
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCSale vs Saracens
Saturday 13th December
TBCSaracens vs Sale
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
15:00Saracens vs London Welsh
Saturday 27th December
15:00Newcastle vs Saracens
Today's Results
Result
Saracens
Saturday 20th September
Aviva Premiership
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday 12th September
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday 6th September
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com