Home team Away Team

Harlequins

  • Care,
    Penalty goals: Evans (3),
    Conversions: Evans,
16 - 18

Saracens


  • Penalty goals: Farrell (6),
  • Aviva Premiership
  • 30th Sep 2012
  • KO 14:00
  • Ground: The Stoop
  • Att: 14,224

Saracens beat defending champions Harlequins 18-16 at the Stoop, the hosts' fly-half Nick Evans having a nightmare afternoon, missing five penalties

Last updated: 30th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Owen Farrell lining one up for Saracens

Owen Farrell: Went six-for-six as Sarries took the win

 care

Danny Care: Scored the only try of the game against Saracens

Related links

Teams

Players

Also see

A nightmare afternoon for Nick Evans helped Saracens on their way to an 18-16 victory over Harlequins at the Stoop.

It was a first defeat of the season for the defending champions, for whom their normally reliable fly-half Evans missed four penalties.

Scrum-half Danny Care scored the only try of the game but Evans' misses proved critical as Quins missed the chance to return to the top of the Aviva Premiership.

The first half hour was a battle of the boot between Evans and Owen Farrell - controversially picked ahead of in-form Charlie Hodgson at fly-half for Sarries.

Evans landed the first successful kick but then missed another and by 32 minutes Farrell had put his team 9-6 up.

Then - with Quins lock Ollie Kohn in the sin-bin - came a moment of pure magic from Care who dummied the defence, spied a gap and sidestepped over the line.

Evans converted to make it 13-9 at half-time, but two Farrell penalties - either side of another miss from Evans - made it 15-13 to the visitors.

Evans missed another from the tee - his third unsuccessful effort - but Saracens then lost George Kruis to the sin-bin and the Kiwi knocked over the resultant penalty - 16-15.

Evans had the chance to extend the lead on 72 but made a hash of a straightforward three-pointer, and Sarries went straight up the other end and earned a shot at goal themselves - and Farrell, who kicked six out of six for his team, was again equal to the task.

Heineken Cup. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Saracens Fixtures
TimeFixture
Saracens
Sunday 1st February
LV= Cup
14:30London Welsh vs Saracens
Sunday 8th February
15:00Saracens vs Exeter
Sunday 15th February
Aviva Premiership
13:00Saracens vs Bath
Saturday 21st February
14:00Sale vs Saracens
Saturday 28th February
15:00Saracens vs Newcastle
Sunday 8th March
14:00Wasps vs Saracens
Saturday 28th March
15:00Saracens vs Harlequins
Saturday 11th April
15:00Saracens vs Leicester
Saturday 25th April
15:00Northampton vs Saracens
Today's Results
Result
Saracens
Sunday 25th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
Clermont Auvergne 18 - 6 Saracens
Saturday 17th January
Saracens 33 - 10 Munster
Friday 9th January
Aviva Premiership
Gloucester 24 - 23 Saracens
Saturday 3rd January
Saracens 22 - 6 London Irish
Saturday 27th December
Newcastle 23 - 25 Saracens
Saturday 20th December
Saracens 78 - 7 London Welsh
Saturday 13th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saracens 28 - 15 Sale Sharks

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com